Menu
Fast booking: +31 (0)20 556 3000

Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden ★★★★

Leidsekade 97 - 1017PN - Amsterdam, Nederland | info.american@hampshire-hotels.com |
Show on map
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
Bar AmericainCafé AmericanLuxury room
  • Bar Americain
  • Café American
  • Luxury room
“Luxurious hotel at the Leidse square with the famous Café Americain and Bar Americain”
» Read more about Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Gold
  • Terrace
Rooms all +
Classic American Room
Deluxe American Room
Junior American Suite
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!
Book

A hotel with a rich history

Amsterdam American Hotel – Hampshire Eden has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Café Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Step outside the Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden and you find yourself at the heart of cultural life in Amsterdam. On and around Leidseplein, there are numerous cafés and restaurants, clubs and theatres. The three most important museums in the city are also within walking distance: the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the Stedelijk Museum.

Leidsekade 97 - 1017PN - Amsterdam, Nederland | Show on map info.american@hampshire-hotels.com
+31 (0)20 556 3000

Shopping, dining, art, culture and relaxation

The Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden is located in the heart of Amsterdam. All you have to do is step outside and you are in the middle of Leidseplein. The perfect starting point for some serious shopping, lunch and dinner, or for art, culture and relaxation:

Museums
Find inspiration in the Van Gogh Museum. This is the only place in the world where there are so many paintings by Vincent van Gogh on display together. The regular collection comprises over 200 paintings, 500 drawings and over 750 letters. The Stedelijk Museum is the MoMA of Amsterdam. Prime pieces are The Beanery by Edward Kienholz and works by Kazimir Malevitsj, Matisse, Het Bauhaus and De Stijl. Besides Rembrandt's Nightwatch, the Rijksmuseum also has masterpieces by Johannes Vermeer and Frans Hals.

Theatre
See a show at the DeLaMar Theatre, the Stadsschouwburg or Theater Bellevue. During the summer from June to September, you can see free shows - cabaret, music and dance - in the Vondelpark Openluchttheater.

Pop podiums
For pop concerts, you can visit the famous pop temples Paradiso and De Melkweg.

On the water
See the city of Amsterdam from a totally different angle and take a tour boat or water taxi.

Public transport
The Location offers an easy access to the public transportation. The airport bus 197 stops right at the doorstep of the hotel, which makes it easy to make your way from Schiphol for about €5,-. 

 

lees meer

Back to the top

Rooms, rates & package deals

Room types Make a booking
Classic American Room 20-30 sqm | twin, queen or king bed | non smoking | airco | Wi-Fi | coffee/tea facilities | minibar | safe | bath/shower combi Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Deluxe American Room 30-35 sqm | twin or king bed | non smoking | airco | Wi-Fi | coffee/tea maker | minibar | safe | bath/shower combi Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Junior American Suite 35-45 sqm | king bed | non smoking | airco | Wi-Fi | separate seating area | coffee/tea facilities | minibar | safe | bath/shower combi | Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!


Back to the top

Would you like to know more about this hotel?

Facilities

Facilities

  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Gold
  • Terrace
  • Sauna
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Meeting rooms
  • Room service
  • Cycle hire
  • Lift
  • Fitness facilities
  • Laundry service
  • Child-friendly

Back to the top
Airport Transportation

Airport Transportation

After arrival at Schiphol Airport you just want to check-in at your hotel as fast as possible. We recommend the following transportation options to get as quick as possible to Amsterdam American Hotel – Hampshire Eden

Car
Paid parking is available on the Leidsekade or in the parking garage Byzantium which is approximately 200 meters walking distance. €2 per 20 minutes, €68 is the maximum day rate.

Public transport
Go to Amsterdam Central Station by train (15 minutes). Take tram number 1, 2 or 5. They stop just in front of the Amsterdam American Hotel – Hampshire Eden at stop “Leidsesquare”

Tip: Amsterdam Airport Express (bus) departs from platform B9 in front of the main plaza. At this location you will find service hosts and a service desk. A one-way tickets is € 5,00. There are also options to buy a return ticket € 10,00 or a 24 hour ticket for all the Amsterdam area € 13,50. Travel time until the Amsterdam American Hotel is approximately 30 minutes. Read more here

Taxi
Do you support a green planet? Use Taxi Electric for a comfortable and sustainable ride to our hotel. All cabs from Taxi Electric are equipped with Wi-Fi. So sit back and read a newspaper or surf the internet while our driver brings you smoothly and at a fixed rate to the Amsterdam American Hotel – Hampshire Eden.

Book Taxi Electric here

 

Airport Transportation

Back to the top
The famous Café and Bar Americain

The famous Café and Bar Americain

Café Americain
A phenomenon in Amsterdam and far beyond. Café Americain is a well known meeting place for writers, artists, performers and locals. In the beautiful art deco interior, you can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner. In fine weather, the spacious terrace is a beautifully sheltered spot.
Every Saturday, you can enjoy Afternoon Tea with sandwiches, scones, bonbons, biscuits and a pot of special tea. Every Sunday, there is a Jazz Brunch with live music, good food and a relaxed lazy Sunday feel.

Bar Americain
No hotel bar in Amsterdam has welcomed such an eclectic mix of international stars as Bar Americain. Many famous guests have ordered a Lemon Jack or Sunset Amore here. Because cocktails are a house speciality. Not surprisingly, the bar is a hot spot for cocktail loving Amsterdam. Shaken or stirred, it's your call.

The famous Café and Bar Americain

Back to the top
Reviews

Reviews

76% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 1.281 reviews
  • Excellent
    415
  • Very good
    550
  • Average
    196
  • Poor
    81
  • Terrible
    39
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
GreenLeader
Plainsboro, NJ
4 of 5 stars
Couples
27-08-2014
“Great Location”

After much research we found this hotel and were glad we did. The location was easy to get to via the tram and was close to many restaurants. We were nervous about the noise from the street since there is a bar/restaurant with outside seating right in front of the hotel, but we never heard anything once we were in our room. We had requested with our reservation, a room on a higher level floor and King bed if possible and both were accomodated. The room and bathroom were both spacious. The front desk staff was very helpful in showing us points of interest on the map and recommending a dinner location. The hotel bar was nice as well.
Owner Response of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review posting and your recent stay. Good to notice that you had such a pleasant stay. We hope to be able to welcome you again. With best regards,
Read more reviews
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Friends getaway
27-08-2014
“Poor customer service”

After a pleasant 2 night stay on the 11th and 12th of July at this iconic hotel and an enjoyable dinner in the lovely Art Deco restaurant, we were very disappointed to discover on the 26th July upon receipt of my friend's credit card statement that he had been charged twice for sundry meals and drinks amounting to a not unsubstantial sum. After several Emails, and an admission by the hotel that they had indeed made a mistake, 6 weeks down the line he has still not received a refund. Very surprising behaviour from a top ranking hotel!
Vienna, Austria
 of 5 stars
Couples
27-08-2014
“Very disappointing after all the visits/stays”

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for close to ten years whenever in Amsterdam. We stayed at the hotel this past weekend, he has been there on three different occasions within this past twelve months. We need to write this review because we encountered a situation whereby there appears to be no system in place to reward frequent or return customers. We have two major complaints, these were the pointed and unfriendly attitude of some of the reception staff; and concerning the room we were given initially, and then, the supposed better room after we commented our dissatisfaction to the reception staff. It is important to note that I had booked directly with the hotel through their website and requested for a room on the Fountain side. When we indicated this to the staff member, she curtly said there was nothing in their system that indicated this request, and that they were going to give us an indoor court room. We politely asked whether we could be notified by a telephone call when the room would be ready since we had arrived early. The receptionist who we were dealing with said that she could do this which she did, but her colleague standing next to her disrespectfully entered into our conversation saying that "they normally do not do that because where would they be if they did that for everybody". We are a mature couple, who do not like to be talked down to in an offensive manner, yet we managed to be patient and let this pass. My husband informed me later that this was same young receptionist who had questioned his American nationality when she had noted that his birthplace was Ecuador in his passport while checking him in during his previous stay. My husband had at the time chalked up her bad tone and unmannerly demeanor to inexperience and lack of worldly knowledge.....bad manners once OK, bad manners twice, this has to be brought up and she needs to be trained in customer service. The room we were given (127)was on the 1st floor non canal side of the hotel, trams clanged continuously, adjoining room 128 door right next to the bed, for me to get out of the bed, I had to slip by the closet with about six inches to spare. If this was a better room that we were going to be given originally, we would have been hard pressed to see how. Upon check out, we informed the same receptionist who handled our check in that we were not at all happy about the room, she again said unfortunately, it was the best they could do and that there had been nothing in their records of the room request, and that it is always good to call to make sure.....then why book through the hotel and make the request, if this information then is not in the database. Either there was a breakdown somewhere, or the staff missed the information. Our mistake was not asking to discuss this with management on the day of checking in, but do feel that we should not have had to, especially as frequent customers. To top it all off, there were no international news channels working throughout the entire weekend, as the receptionists informed us there was a general problem with the cable connectivity. Bottom line, although we have had some good rooms through the ten years, we have also had our share of bad rooms, we love the Cafe and Bar, love the concierges and their helpfulness, but can do without the rudeness and attitude of some of the reception staff. We will not be coming back, except for the Cafe and Bar, and will be taking our business to the Marriott and to the NH, one block away.
Owner Response of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
Dear Guest, Thank you for your frequent visits and your review posting. Your report is important to us and leaves some questions open. Would you be able to contact us to discuss? Thank you and best regards,
LITTLE FALLS
 of 5 stars
Couples
26-08-2014
“Rude female reception. Run down dated bathrooms, carpet, upholstery, feel dirty staying there”

The location is excellent. The female staff is always rude in the morning and afternoon. The carpeting, upholstery and windows treatments are filthy. The rooms are just real dated and nasty. The wifi is worthless who wants to leave the room and sit in the lobby for high speed wifi, please. The furniture needs to be gutted and replaced. The breakfast room is still good.
Owner Response of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
Dear Guest, we are left to wonder why you have placed your review again after your recent similar review, albeit this time more abusive and discriminating. Apparently our respone was dissatisfactory. However, replacing your review solves nothing. This medium is not an efficient correspondence method, why don't you simply contact us as suggested? Now we can only refer to our previous response. With best regards,
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
 of 5 stars
Couples
25-08-2014
“Central location, good amenities, very nice indeed.”

I would like to point out that my husband stays here for business every week and I went for a long weekend. He has been in several different rooms and said the ones on the front and overlooking the canal are noisy. He was kept awake most of the night by trams and ambulances, so that's something to think about if you are a light sleeper. As I am a light sleeper, he asked for a room on the top floor, floor 6, and around the side of the building away from traffic. This was a very good decision! Great central location, direct bus 197 from the airport, 5 euros, and the 1, 2 and 5 trams go to Central Station. It's near shops, Vondel Park and 15 mins walk from the main museums. Buy a museum card for 60 euros if you are going to more than 3 or 4 places. Great for eating out, there are lots and lots of restaurants nearby. The building is wonderful, the breakfast selection is great, the room was a good size, although my husband said other rooms on floor 5 were bigger and had balconies, I still prefer to be in a quieter room. Staff spoke superb English so no problem there. I didn't need to have any contact with them as everything was fine. Rooms have hairdryers and bath products, air conditioning, a kettle with tea and coffee selection, a safe and fridge with drinks and snacks. Be careful because if you remove anything it will automatically be added to your bill! Free wifi and also paid wifi for business. Computers and a printer on the mezzanine level. A really lovely stay.
Owner Response of Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. Your detailed summary of the hotel and its services sums it up very well, including transportation and sightseeing tips! We hope that we may accomodate you again at future trips to the city. With best regards,

Back to the top
Meetings in the heart of Amsterdam.

Meetings in the heart of Amsterdam.

Everything has been provided for business travellers to make their stay as pleasant as possible. Relaxing after work or finishing off some business - it's all possible. For guests, there's free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, extensive 24 hour room service, express check out, business TV channel (English) and a business centre. Public transport leaves right in front of the door; there's a standard rate for the taxi to Schiphol Airport. Relax in the free gym and sauna.

Café Americain can be exclusively hired for a dinner, fashion show, product presentation or reception for a maximum of 330 guests. For business meetings, there are four stylish banqueting halls. Three of these can be interconnected. In the various rooms, you can host a meeting for a maximum of 110 people, dine with 125 guests and give a party for 225 people.

Bigger congress or event?Watch our video below.

View the meeting room overview here

Attractive Meeting Deals from €55,- per person

Hampshire Hotels has compiled a number of attractive meeting deals for you. All required services are included and the price is per person. Nice and simple!

View all meeting deals & prices
Meetings in the heart of Amsterdam.

Back to the top
Tie the knot in a wedding boat.

Tie the knot in a wedding boat.

Your wedding day should be unforgettable and above all hassle free. This is one of the most important days of your life and also one of the best. That’s why it's very important that all your wishes are taken into account, from the ceremony to the wedding night, so that, together with your family and friends, you can enjoy the day to the full. Hampshire Hotels are happy to help you organise your wedding right down to the last detail. You can for example use one of the attractive rooms with a view over the Singelgracht or the famous Café Americain. It is also possible to tie the knot in a ‘wedding boat’ that leaves from the jetty.

Official wedding venue : Yes
Maximum number of reception guests : 330
Maximum number of dinner guests : 230
Maximum number of party guests : 330
Outdoor party possibilities : 400
Bridal suite available : Yes
Number of rooms : 175
Entertainment management service : Yes
Wedding cake service : Yes
Flower-arranging service : Yes

More information about weddings
http://www.hampshire-hotels.com/uploads/files/images/Stock/CloseUpChampagne.jpg

Back to the top