Fast booking: +31(0)20 5205 555

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam ★★★

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | |
Show on map
« Back to overview
Lounge nieuwBadkamer 1Badkamer 2Badkamer 3Deluxe Room
  • Lounge nieuw
  • Badkamer 1
  • Badkamer 2
  • Badkamer 3
  • Deluxe Room
View 18 large photos
» Read more about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Rooms all +
Family Room
Small Double Room
Small Twin Room
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam’s accessibility by public transport is ideal for the business traveller. And the practical services present in the hotel include: free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a desk with internet connection in the room, a safe, luggage storage, laundry service and a wide range of good restaurants in the area, for a business lunch or extensive dinner.

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam doesn’t have its own rooms for meetings or parties, but it has many other possibilities on offer. If required, the hotel is pleased to provide for your meeting or party in cooperation with one of the colleague Hampshire Hotels in the neighbourhood: Hampshire Hotel – Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden. Or with the hotel’s other partners, such as Artis and Hortus Botanicus. Because wouldn’t it be simply fantastic to organise a party in Artis Zoo or between the exotic plants and butterflies in Hortus Botanicus!

Request a quotation here
Ideal accessibility and practical services

Back to the top

Rooms & Rates

Room types Make a booking
Family Room 4 single beds | 28 sqm | shower, hair-dryer and toilet | free WiFi | coffee and tea facility | flatscreen TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Book this room
Small Double Room 1 double bed | 16 sqm | shower, hair-dryer and toilet | free WiFi | coffee and tea facility | flatscreen TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Book this room
Small Twin Room 2 single beds | 16 sqm | shower, hair-dryer and toilet | free WiFi | coffee and tea facility | flatscreen TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Book this room
Standard Room 1 double bed or 2 single beds | 24 sqm | shower, hair-dryer and toilet | sofa | free WiFi | coffee and tea facility | flatscreen TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Book this room

Back to the top

Attractive meeting deals from € 0,00 p.p.

Hampshire Hotels has compiled a number of attractive meeting deals for you. All required services are included and the price is per person. Nice and simple!

These are average prices and subject to availability.

All prices are including VAT and for a minimum of 10 persons.

You will receive: 4 hour
8 hour
12 hour
24 hour
32 hour
Plenary meeting room          
Projector & screen          
Flipchart, markers & paper          
Notepads & pens          
Unlimited coffee & tea          
Hampshire Break (this is a morning or afternoon break with a snack)          
3-course dinner          
Overnight stay including breakfast          
Lunch (day 2)          

Request quotation

Or call: +31 (0)20 - 5205 555

Back to the top

Do you require assistance?

We?d be delighted to help you!
Call us on +31 20 520 5555: +31 (0)20 535 6888

Meeting room name m2 Height Wheelchair Air-conditioning Daylight Wi-Fi Number of people per layout

Request quotation

Or call: +31 (0)20 535 6888

Back to the top

Hotel in the greenest part of Amsterdam

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is in the centre of Amsterdam, in Plantagebuurt, and is an ideal family hotel. This sociable neighbourhood on the east of the city has numerous great cafés and restaurants. Of course you shouldn’t miss a visit to the area’s most well-known attraction: Artis Zoo. With tropical fish in the monumental Aquarium, giraffes, elephants and other small, large, loveable and exciting animals.

There are also various interesting museums in this greenest part of the city. Such as Tropenmuseum with special stories and objects from across the world, Hermitage Amsterdam with it’s impressive exhibitions and Joods Historisch Museum. Also close to Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is Waterlooplein with it’s legendary flee market. You can relax, exercise or picnic in Oosterpark.

Many great hotspots in the area

There’s not much chance that you’d get bored in this part of Amsterdam: there are simply too many great museums and other hotspots around Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam. You can purchase entrance tickets for various museums in the hotel, which will save you standing in a queue. Tips for great things in the area:

The Scheepvaartmuseum has recently been completely restored. Visit this beautiful building, the East India Company ship and interactive exhibitions about five hundred year’s of maritime history. Changing exhibitions are shown in Hermitage on the Amstel from the sizeable collection of the museum with the same name in Saint Petersburg.  Theater Het Koninklijke Theater Carré is the most coveted stage for artistes. That’s because of the hall itself, which has an unbelievable atmosphere, but also because of the list of legends who have once performed here. If you have the opportunity, watching a show here is highly-recommended.

You only need to cross the road and you’re in Artis Royal Zoo. Artis Royal Zoo is open every Saturday until sunset in June, July and August. There are lots of activities and live music on these summer evenings. In Joods Historisch Museum, the children can visit the Hollander family. They can learn Hebrew and bake a kosher Challah bread. Magic butterflies fly around in Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. Tropenmuseum is expert in getting the children interested in the culture of other nations. Check the programme for special activities.

Oosterpark is a wonderful place to enjoy relaxing, jogging, football or a picnic. Or to visit a festival in the summer, such as Amsterdam Roots Festival or Appelsap.

There’s been a hectic trade in old books, second-hand clothes and bric-a-brac on Waterlooplein for more than a hundred years. Another traditional Amsterdam market is the multi-cultural Dappermarkt in Dapperstraat. Enjoy a Hollandse Nieuwe herring or a delicious kebab.

Back to the top


Back to the top

Breakfast, lounging and dining

There’s no restaurant at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. Nevertheless, a delicious breakfast awaits you every morning from 7:00 a.m., with coffee, tea, fruit juice, freshly-baked bread rolls, cheese, meats, sweets and hot dishes such as sausages, bacon and scrambled egg. In short, a complete starter package.

The Lancaster Lounge
Fresh snacks and drinks can be obtained in The Lancaster Lounge throughout the day. And the vending machine is available for you 24/7 with chilled drinks, chocolate and crisps.

Brasserie FLO Amsterdam
For an authentic French feel, visit Brasserie FLO, ten minutes walk from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. You’ll now you can’t go wrong as soon as you walk into FLO and come eye-to-eye with the beautiful fruits de mer buffet. This is French living! There are classic French dishes with an original, culinary twist on the menu. The kitchen works with the highest quality produce and adjusts the dishes to the season. A great address for shellfish lovers.

Breakfast, lounging and dining

Back to the top


57% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 866 reviews
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars
Friends getaway
“Does Exactly What It Says On The Tin”

This hotel will never win awards for being the best hotel in Amsterdam, but it does what it is designed for. Location wise, it is well placed within walking distance of the centre and well located for public transport. It benefits though from quieter traffic outside. We checked in with a little confusion as the concept of one individual paying for three rooms seemed beyond reason, and two passports were taken (for three guests, it should have been three or one, but definitely not two). This took longer than it should have in all honesty. Rooms were OK and served their purpose as a base to visit the city. The bathrooms varied in size and comfort, with one of our group being particularly uncomfortable as it was incredibly small. My room (300) had 4 single beds within and a decent bathroom. Beds were not comfortable, but after a tiring day exploring the city, we didn't struggle too much. Reception area is functional, with complimentary coffee available. It is comfortable enough. Cleaning staff were an issue. On the day of check out (midday checkout), the staff attempted to enter the room twice while a "Do not disturb" sign was on the door. When told to go and return after I had checked out, they seemed incredulous and again tried to gain entry to clean. I was not the only member of my party with this experience. Incredibly strange economy to clean a room on the day of check out BEFORE vacation by the current guest?! Otherwise, staff were friendly enough and the hotel served its purpose. We did not take breakfast on the basis of other reviews. There is free WIFI which does not require registration.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, thank you for taking the time and effort to write your review. Kind regards, Hans
Read more reviews
Swaffham, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
“Disappointing breakfast”

On checking into this hotel we were told breakfast was served until 10.30am but soon discovered that the chances of getting anything much to eat after 9.30am was remote! The staff were very helpful and friendly & the hotel is in a nice quiet location.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Mrs Robinson, thank you for writing your review. Our breakfast times are from 07:00 hours untill 10:30 hours. On the day of this incident we had a busy breakfast with a group which resulted in an allmost empty buffet. You were the last room to have breakfast and in that case we prepare a small platter with breakfast. I spoke to the restaurant supervisor and he informed me that you left after a few minutes and went to the reception. My apologies that you missed breakfast, our supervisor should have shown more initiative. I do hope that despite this breakfast incident, you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Hans
London, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
“Beware of what you pay for city taxes ! ”

Firstly the positives great location 2 minutes to tram stop, opposite the fantastic Artis Zoo (can even hear the animals in the morning - lovely) rooms are a nice standard. Negative is that on check in the young female blonde receptionist told us we needed to pay €35 euros for city taxes I commented that this was high and she advised that city taxes at €17.50 a night. It was only in the way home that I saw that city taxes are only 5% of the total stay this would have been about €10. I immediately called Expedia (who we booked through) and they spoke with hotel and got us a refund for the €25 we had been overcharged. I am not happy that the receptionist deliberately lied to us as she specially said it was €17.50 per night this of course is untrue. I therefore suggest you be cautious when handing over any money at check in or check out !!
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Madam, thank you for writing your review. I am glad that I could sort this problem out together with the Expedia team on the day of your departure and could make a refund on your account through Expedia. The receptionist asked for a deposit for the extra's which is also for the city tax. The difference in balance ( deposit minus the city tax and extra's like for instance a phone call) will be returned at check out. In your specific case the refund was not returned in cash but it was done through your Expedia on to your credit card account after they made us aware of your complaint at Expedia. I offered my aplogies at the Expedia employee who would pass this on to you but again my apologies for this error. Kind regards, Hans
Brussels, Belgium
 of 5 stars
“Normal stay, apart from the noisy room next to the lobby”

While the hotel is fine, breakfast and service perfect, I had a very noisy room as it was located right opposite the lobby. I would not recommend anyone accepting it as it does not allow for a night sleep.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans
Douglas, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
“Not as good as it should or could be.”

Not a bad hotel, it is well located is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful breakfasts were good BUT it could be better if they did not make silly mistakes and decisions. The rooms are not large something that is freely admitted by the hotel manager in other reviews which makes some of the rest of this seem strange and a very odd decision to make. We booked a standard room for 4 nights, the description for which stated and still does say the same on the hotels own website, "1 double bed or 2 single beds | 24 sqm | shower, hair-dryer and toilet | sofa | free WiFi | coffee and tea facility | flatscreen TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities" Half way through our visit we returned to the room to find a third bed being added to the room and the sofa removed, now the rooms here are not big, there is little enough room with the existing beds and sofa but adding a third bed and doing it halfway through a persons booked stay is just pain silly. We mentioned it to reception and the third bed was taken out but the sofa was not returned as to quote the reception staff "all rooms are to have three beds now". I understand that room requirements in a hotel may change and that they may decide to re-equip a room or rooms and that hotel policy may change but you do not do it part way through someone's stay meaning that they do not get what they had booked for the whole of their stay, you organise so that changes are made at the end of their stay. Obviously it is all about maximising profit and not about guest comfort. the management here need to learn that it is the little things that make you " more than welcome" and stupid penny pinching and mistakes are what put people off. The room bin not emptied for three days, mean provision of teas and coffees in the room, only two creamers (some days only one) to go with two tea bags and four coffees (two decaf and two ordinary) surely it would not break the bank to put more in and then just replace what had been used. If guests like more than two coffees without having to go downstairs to reception it would be so easy and cost very little but make a big difference. so come on don't be so mean put four of everything in the teas and coffees. Bathroom glasses not replaced, another trip down to reception, towels changed some days but not others. Individually all little silly things but add them all up and you go from a great experience to a bit disappointing and more hassle than it is worth. Sorry but you really could have done better, we love the area but we will stay somewhere else next time.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Mr Jim D, I would like to respond to the incident with the third bed in your room during your stay. Your room is designated to be a triple room. During your stay we received, earlier than planned, the beds for the three new triple rooms. Well intentioned our technical staff member decided to put the beds already in place although we discussed this not do so on the rooms that were occupied. It just was not convenient and smart thing to do and this bed is removed soon after your phone call to the front desk. He should have put the sofa back. My apologies for this. The coffee and tea in the room is actually based on standard consumption, also because in the lobby there is free coffee and tea where much use is made of. Towels are only replaced if they are left on the ground; the information can be found on the doorhanger on the inside of the door and the glass in the bathroom as they are put in the garbagebin. We try to listen to our guests and have repeatedly heard that one wants to think along with the environment. That is why we opted for this policy. It is basically a communication story. Communications to our guests about our policy and motives. I want to thank you for your review, we can only learn from this. I do hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans