Menu
Fast booking:

Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag ★★★★

Bezuidenhoutseweg 53 - 2594 AC - Den Haag, Nederland | info.babylon@hampshire-hotels.com |
Show on map
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
“Modern fourstar hotel situated next to the central train station, close to the city center. ”
» Read more about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Gold
  • Meeting rooms
Rooms all +
Junior Suite
Standard Room
Superior King Room
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!
Book

Modern four-star hotel right next to The Hague Central Station

Hampshire Hotel – Babylon Den Haag is right next to The Hague’s central station and has views over Haagse Bos. All the city’s places of interest, such as Mauritshuis, Paleis Noordeinde, Binnenhof, Panorama Mesdag and Madurodam are within easy reach. And with a tram stop in front of the door, you’re in Scheveningen in no time to enjoy a day in the sun, a café terrace and a stroll over the pier and boulevard.

Hampshire Hotel – Babylon Den Haag is also the ideal hotel for business travellers. It is situated in the centre and is easily accessible by car and train. The various ministries and large international companies are close by. You’re also in the right place culinary-wise. Throughout the day hotel guests can enjoy The LivingRoom restaurant on the hotel’s first floor. You can enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner here together with beautiful views across Haagse Bos. 

Bezuidenhoutseweg 53 - 2594 AC - Den Haag, Nederland | Show on map info.babylon@hampshire-hotels.com
+31 (0)70 381 49 01

In the middle of bustling The Hague

The city centre is within walking distance of Hampshire Hotel – Babylon Den Haag. Here you can walk along historic buildings such as Paleis Noordeinde, Koninklijke Schouwburg and the Binnenhof. The Binnenhof visitor centre organises tours of the Ridderzaal, Eerste Kamer and Tweede Kamer (Dutch senate and parliament buildings). Highly-recommended, even for those with only a mild interest in politics! Mauritshuis is close to the Binnenhof. This museum has a fantastic collection of Old Masters, including Johannes Vermeer’s The girl with the pearl earring. Mauritshuis is being renovated until 2014. That’s why part of the collection has relocated temporarily to Gemeentemuseum Den Haag.

Art and Culture
The world-renowned Gemeentemuseum Den Haag, with the largest Mondriaan collection in the world, is certainly worth a visit. View the largest painting in the Netherlands at Panorama Mesdag. On the beautiful Lange Voorhout, you can find the Escher Museum in Het Paleis. You can view almost all works by the famous graphic artist M.C. Escher in Queen Emma’s former residence. Prefer some modern technology to art? Then look, listen and experiment away at Museon science museum. Or visit Omniversum for films about man, nature and science on a huge IMAX screen.

Beach 
Het Kurhaus and the pier are the most discernible landmarks by which you can recognise ever-entertaining Scheveningen. For beaches and dunes you can also visit Kijkduin. This family seaside resort has outstretched beaches and a lively boulevard.

Events
Particularly in June, The Hague city centre is bustling with music and other events. Well-known festivals include Festival Classique, Vlaggetjesdag, Parkpop, Veteranendag and Summer Spirit Festival.

Children
The exciting underwater world of Sea Life Scheveningen with more than 45 aquariums is close to Kurhaus. An absolute must is of course Madurodam, the miniature version of the Dutch landscape, Dutch cities and Dutch life. A great extra at Madurodam is “Waddenzee” playground. 

lees meer

Back to the top

Rooms, rates & package deals

Room types Make a booking
Junior Suite king bed | 36 sqm | non-smoking | free wifi in room | paytv | airco | safe | coffee and tea facilities | minibar Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard Room 2 single beds | 22 sqm | non-smoking | free wifi in room | airco | paytv | coffee and tea facilities | minibar | safe Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Superior King Room king bed | 30 sqm | non-smoking | free wifi in room | airco | paytv | safe | coffee and tea facilities | minibar Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Superior Twin Room 2 single beds | 30 sqm | free wifi in room | non-smoking | airco | safe | coffee and tea facilities | paytv | minibar Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!


Back to the top

Would you like to know more about this hotel?

Facilities

Facilities

  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Gold
  • Meeting rooms
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Cycle hire
  • Child-friendly
  • Lift
  • Wheelchair-friendly
  • Room service
  • Parking (paid)
  • Laundry service
  • No credit card needed

Back to the top
Bar/Restaurant The LivingRoom

Bar/Restaurant The LivingRoom

Located on the hotel’s first floor, The LivingRoom restaurant offers fantastic views across the trees of Haagse Bos. The LivingRoom is open daily for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or simply a cup of coffee or afternoon drinks with snacks at the bar. The alcoves in this “living room” are ideal for an intimate lunch or dinner for two, or for a business appointment. With free Wi-Fi in the restaurant, business guests can check e-mails and get some work done.

The restaurant’s menu changes with the seasons and the wines and the personal service are excellent. That’s why many guests leave The LivingRoom with a feeling of great satisfaction and quickly pay a return visit. 

Bar/Restaurant The LivingRoom

Back to the top
Reviews

Reviews

68% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 353 reviews
  • Excellent
    71
  • Very good
    160
  • Average
    73
  • Poor
    31
  • Terrible
    18
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
4 of 5 stars
Couples
17-08-2014
“Great service! Rooms could use sprucing up.”

We stayed in a room on an upper floor facing both the park across the street and the plaza in front of the Centraal Station. We had a junior suite with a sleeping area and a a sitting area. The design of the hallways and rooms was spot on. The walls, chairs, and carpet had some age on them. Despite this, the room was spotless. The service was exceptional. The people who worked the counters were friendly, spoke multiple languages and problems were addressed immediately. The breakfast was meh, it was OK but not great and not worth 18 Euros per person, especially since there are so many options nearby to pick up some coffee, juice, fruit, and bread. Despite the minuses, I would stay here again! The exceptional non-intrusive service makes the place so very, very comfortable. The location next to the major train station and transportation hub is very convenient.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. "More Than Welcome" is not only our slogan but something we strive for every day and we are happy to hear that you have noticed this. We would also like to inform you that we are currently replacing carpets in our rooms. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rob Hemmes General Manager
Read more reviews
Groningen, The Netherlands
 of 5 stars
Business
08-08-2014
“Badly maintained hotel, no value for money”

Being in The Hague for business the Hampshire Babylon is well located next to railway station, ministries, archives, and town centre, with forest park opposite. Room on nineth floor had beautiful view of the town, except that windows were so dirty - inside and outside - that there was little to look at. Room was small, mattrass comfortable, but bedlinen threadbare, curtains dusty, dirty and also threadbare. Fitted carpet had huge stains all over (also in corridors) and in my room it was loose from the floor. Modern bathroom badly maintained with smelly pipes, wall-fitted loo much too low for comfort. I had not been here for a while and remembered the last bad experience when I entered the room. Reception staff reacted to my complaint as if it was a one-off. However, this hotel has a (long-standing) structural maintainance and quality problem. Not to be recommended.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Dear guest, We sincerely apologize for the discomfort you have experienced during your stay. It is certainly not our intention or our standard for guests to experience this type of service. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our team for their immediate attention. We would also like to inform you that we are currently replacing carpets. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Rob Hemmes General Manager
Oslo, Norway
 of 5 stars
Couples
07-08-2014
“Excellent hotel”

Had plans to spend one night at this hotel, It was the cheapest one in Hague. Since it was close to my birthday we got a free upgrade bonus points for excellent service. And it did not stop there, the staff was really helpful and friendly and we ended up staying another night. Booked the same room we had, still not expensive at all. Hotel was clean, quiet and relaxing. A good view of the city, a nice park outside and close to the train station. But you did not even notice since it was quiet.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. "More Than Welcome" is not only our slogan but something we strive for every day and we are happy to hear that you have noticed this. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rob Hemmes General Manager
UK
 of 5 stars
Business
23-07-2014
“Two excellent stays here”

...and I will go back again. The staff couldn't be more helpful, the hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast could be a little more expansive in range but certainly enough to set me up for the day. Located next to the rail station, although I couldn't hear it. Don't do what I did on my first visit and try to take a cab to the hotel!
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. "More Than Welcome" is not only our slogan but something we strive for every day and we are happy to hear that you have noticed this. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Rob Hemmes General Manager
netherlands
 of 5 stars
Couples
21-07-2014
“A good average hotel”

Hotel new Babylon It is renovated or new hotel, and its external look is nice. Good location near den haag central station, convenient for public transport. One strange odd thing: no hotel access was properly planned to arrive directly in the shopping centre below, also new. Inside the hotel decoration is rather standard. And nothing particular. The hotel rooms are standard too. Clean, ok. Even new small maintenance has to be better tracked: toilet paper support not well fixed, hole in the toilet wall, no bed lamp bulbs working... Some moisture and dirts at the bottom of the shower glass panel. Slippery shower. The shower is inside a bathtub. And therefore it has a slippery floor... We were at level 9 and had a nice view over the city. The aircon was not possible to be stopped. Big noise ongoing in the ventilation system during all our stay: very annoying. That can be heard in the room and toilet. So take your earplugs... Nothing to be done according reception. TV system: hotel interface outdated, no smartTV ( impossible to connect your USB drive), no international channels such as French or Italian or Arabic or Russian... No CNN, nor international movie channel (eg hbo)... Good point with 2 Chinese channels. However, no high resolution TV, nor large screen. Older generation. A pity, since a new or renovated hotel. Wifi ok In the room, we hear people in the corridor, not enough sound proof. Housecleaning is very annoying, its management need to be clearly improved: when we came back at 14:45, during two days, the room was not done... Even though we mentioned at reception that our room was free to be done... Not professional. Service: rather basic, not smily enough, rather neutral. Not listening properly to customers. No particular welcome. When we asked a late check out on Sunday, it was first given as a paid service! No spa, no sauna, no hotel fitness. For fitness, you could pay an extra and go in the shopping mall fitness centre. Why not included for hotel guests? The last day, we received a questionnaire... In Dutch. So we could not answer... No major loyalty program... Why this hotel is a 4* is a mystery... For us, it is clearly and simply a 3* one. A good 3 star Well located.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
Dear Camok, Thank you for taking the time in writing down your experience with our hotel. We will use your comments in order te improve our services. Kind regards,

Back to the top
Excellent location and facilities suited to the business guest

Excellent location and facilities suited to the business guest

Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag could hardly be closer to The Hague central station. From the station you have direct connections to Schiphol and with other large cities. The hotel is also easily accessible by car: you can get to the A4 and A12 motorways within 5 minutes. There are various extra facilities for business guests: free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, 24-hour reception, express check-out, 24-hour room service, VIP programme, internet and business corner and a park opposite the hotel to relax after a busy day.

Meetings
At Hampshire Hotel – Babylon Den Haag you can have meetings in a top location, around the corner from various Embassies and the head offices of large, international companies. You can choose from five functional meeting rooms, which are provided with all modern equipment. These pleasant rooms are suitable for 2 to 170 people and are located on the hotel’s first floor.

View the meeting room overview here

Attractive Meeting Deals from €39,50 per person

Hampshire Hotels has compiled a number of attractive meeting deals for you. All required services are included and the price is per person. Nice and simple!

View all meeting deals & prices
Excellent location and facilities suited to the business guest

Back to the top
Get married in beautiful The Hague

Get married in beautiful The Hague

Your wedding day should be unforgettable and above all hassle free. This is one of the most important days of your life and also one of the best. So it's very important that your wishes are taken into account, from the ceremony to the wedding night so that, together with your family and friends, you can optimally enjoy the day. Hampshire Hotels are happy to help you organise your wedding right down to the last detail.

Official wedding venue : No
Maximum number of reception guests : 150
Maximum number of dinner guests : 100
Maximum number of party guests : 150
Outdoor party possibilities : Nee
Bridal suite available : No
Number of rooms : 143
Entertainment management service : Yes
Wedding cake service : Yes
Flower-arranging service : Yes

More information about weddings
http://www.hampshire-hotels.com/uploads/files/images/Stock/RodeRozen_Ring.jpg

Back to the top