Menu
Fast booking: +31 (0)20 535 6888

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam ★★★

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com |
Show on map
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
“Family hotel located in the center of Amsterdam, in front of zoo Artis”
» Read more about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
Rooms all +
Family room
Small Double Room
Small Twin Room
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!
Book

Hotel in the greenest part of Amsterdam

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is in the centre of Amsterdam, in Plantagebuurt, and is an ideal family hotel. This sociable neighbourhood on the east of the city has numerous great cafés and restaurants. Of course you shouldn’t miss a visit to the area’s most well-known attraction: Artis Zoo. With tropical fish in the monumental Aquarium, giraffes, elephants and other small, large, loveable and exciting animals.

There are also various interesting museums in this greenest part of the city. Such as Tropenmuseum with special stories and objects from across the world, Hermitage Amsterdam with it’s impressive exhibitions and Joods Historisch Museum. Also close to Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is Waterlooplein with it’s legendary flee market. You can relax, exercise or picnic in Oosterpark.

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | Show on map info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com
+31 (0)20 535 6888

Many great hotspots in the area

There’s not much chance that you’d get bored in this part of Amsterdam: there are simply too many great museums and other hotspots around Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam. You can purchase entrance tickets for various museums in the hotel, which will save you standing in a queue. Tips for great things in the area:

Museums
The Scheepvaartmuseum has recently been completely restored. Visit this beautiful building, the East India Company ship and interactive exhibitions about five hundred year’s of maritime history. Changing exhibitions are shown in Hermitage on the Amstel from the sizeable collection of the museum with the same name in Saint Petersburg.  Theater Het Koninklijke Theater Carré is the most coveted stage for artistes. That’s because of the hall itself, which has an unbelievable atmosphere, but also because of the list of legends who have once performed here. If you have the opportunity, watching a show here is highly-recommended.

Children
You only need to cross the road and you’re in Artis Zoo. Artis is open every Saturday until sunset in June, July and August. There are lots of activities and live music on these summer evenings. In Joods Historisch Museum, the children can visit the Hollander family. They can learn Hebrew and bake a kosher Challah bread. Magic butterflies fly around in Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. Tropenmuseum is expert in getting the children interested in the culture of other nations. Check the programme for special activities.

Park
Oosterpark is a wonderful place to enjoy relaxing, jogging, football or a picnic. Or to visit a festival in the summer, such as Amsterdam Roots Festival or Appelsap.

Market
There’s been a hectic trade in old books, second-hand clothes and bric-a-brac on Waterlooplein for more than a hundred years. Another traditional Amsterdam market is the multi-cultural Dappermarkt in Dapperstraat. Enjoy a Hollandse Nieuwe herring or a delicious kebab.

lees meer

Back to the top

Rooms, rates & package deals

Room types Make a booking
Family room 4 single beds | 28 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Small Double Room 1 double bed | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Small Twin Room 2 single beds | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard room 1 double bed or 2 single beds | 24 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet |refrigerator | sofa | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!


Back to the top

Would you like to know more about this hotel?

Facilities

Facilities

  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
  • Child-friendly
  • Lift
  • Laundry service

Back to the top
Location & Transportation

Location & Transportation

Connexxion Airport Shuttle
The company Connexxion offers a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel which is available between 6AM and 8PM and leaves every 30 minutes. You can get your tickets at the Connexxion desk on Schiphol Plaza (located next to the arrivals hall). Our receptionist will assist you in booking the shuttle back to the airport. The price for a return ticket is € 26,00 per person.

Public Transport
The hotel is easily accessible by public transport; trains from the airport to Amsterdam Central Station leave every 15 minutes. From Central Station tram number 9 (direction Diemen-Sniep) will take you to the hotel, you need to get out at the 7th stop “Artis” from there the hotel is at your left-hand side at about 70 meters.

The costs (for train + tram) are approximately € 7,- per person, the total travel time is around 45 minutes. The train service available 24 hours per day, at night trains run every 30 minutes. The trams run until midnight.

Taxi
You will find a line of taxi’s waiting outside the arrivals hall, the costs from the airport to the hotel are around € 45,-. The travel time is approximately 20 minutes, the service is available 24 hours per day.

Parking
Unfortunately the hotel does not have its own parking, but in the area around the hotel you will find sufficient space for on-road parking. The costs for a day ticket are € 36 (paid parking from 9:00 till 24:00 hours) or € 4 per hour.

You can use the parking garage of the Falcon Hotel in the Valkenburgerstraat (at 700 meters) at a reduced rate of € 20 per day. Ask our reception for a discount card.

Location & Transportation

Back to the top
Breakfast, lounging and dining

Breakfast, lounging and dining

There’s no restaurant at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. Nevertheless, a delicious breakfast awaits you every morning from 7:00 a.m., with coffee, tea, fruit juice, freshly-baked bread rolls, cheese, meats, sweets and hot dishes such as sausages, bacon and scrambled egg. In short, a complete starter package.

The Lancaster Lounge
Fresh snacks and drinks can be obtained in The Lancaster Lounge throughout the day. And the vending machine is available for you 24/7 with chilled drinks, chocolate and crisps.

Brasserie FLO Amsterdam
For an authentic French feel, visit Brasserie FLO, ten minutes walk from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. You’ll now you can’t go wrong as soon as you walk into FLO and come eye-to-eye with the beautiful fruits de mer buffet. This is French living! There are classic French dishes with an original, culinary twist on the menu. The kitchen works with the highest quality produce and adjusts the dishes to the season. A great address for shellfish lovers.

Breakfast, lounging and dining

Back to the top
Reviews

Reviews

57% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 547 reviews
  • Excellent
    60
  • Very good
    224
  • Average
    167
  • Poor
    64
  • Terrible
    32
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
GreenLeader
Exeter, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars
Couples
29-09-2014
“Everything we needed”

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my wife's 40th birthday. We planned to be out and about all day and only use the hotel as a base to sleep and shower. But I was still concerned about some of the reviews saying the rooms were really small. As it turns out I had nothing to worry about. We were given a room on the 1st floor at the front of the hotel and it was huge. We even had 2 double beds, which would've come in handy if we'd had a falling out (which we didn't). Tea and coffee making facilities, T.V, hairdryer, and a small safe, everything you need. The cleaner came in every day of our 3 night stay. Like a lot of people have said, the hotel is in a leafy suburb of Amsterdam but still within easy reach of the centre. Trams stop just up the road from the hotel. #9 will take you through the city to cental station. When coming back, get off at Artis and walk 2 minutes to the hotel. We brought 72 hour passes to use on trams and metro, 16.50 euros each. I'd also booked tickets to see Lady Gaga at the Ziggo Dome. Waterlooplein metro station is only one stop away so the hotel is ideally placed for people who have booked tickets for a gig. My wife and I had an amazing time and plan to return some day. We would not hesitate in booking this hotel again.
Read more reviews
 of 5 stars
Couples
28-09-2014
“Basic hotel but good price!”

It was basic and we knew it but it did the job for the three nights we spent there whilst exploring Amsterdam. Rooms are extremely small so do not be surprised and bathroom is VERY basic not even a proper door with a lock its a pull over sort of slide door not great for privacy at all but still was only for a few days and we survived! other than that it was okay probably wouldn't stay here again would get something more central but the Metro stop is just down the road for both directions which was really handy and it's quite close to Amsterdam Zoo. Nice place but only for a night or two stay any longer and i'd look at somewhere a bit more comfier and bigger.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
 of 5 stars
Couples
23-09-2014
“Dated Hotel”

Where do I start!.... I chose this hotel as I was assured that parking outside was available... On arrival we were told that parking outside was a big no-no as break-ins were common. We were coerced into using a remote parking at 70 euro for three nights. The rooms are extremely small and very sparsely equipped, the safe in the cupboard can only accommodate passports and very small items. The bathroom reeked of urine and was extremely tiny with the plumbing leaking. Because of this we did not make use of the dining facilities. We also chose this hotel due to its location i.e. close to public transport, quiet part of the city.... Big mistake! we had 24 hr partying around us! Not a very wise choice on my part and certainly a lesson well learnt. The TV has very poor reception and we used it for weather updates only. Be warned!! no air conditioning in the hotel...... only a portable fan in the closet!
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Leslie M, thank you for writing you r review. I am sorry that your stay in our hotel was not what you expected. The parking around the hotel is easy, there is always enough space but it is paying parking ( € 36,- per day) as in allmost all cities around the globe. I have no idea who informed you about any car break in's but the last one was two month's ago and that was due to the fact that people left valuables on the backseat of the car. We do have small rooms and no airconditioning; we inform all partners we work with and provide with information so guests will have the right expectations when they visit our hotel. Kind regards, Hans
Newcastle, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Family
18-09-2014
“Great value, safe and quiet area”

Stayed here with my family at high season, for 3 nights, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 11 and 14. It is in a safe and quiet area, facing the side of the zoo, which takes literally 2 minutes to walk to the zoo gates. Some people have said in reviews that you can hear monkeys, but there is nothing to be alarmed by this, it is only a distant sound in the mornings and our room was right opposite. The hotel itself is part of a chain of hotels, the Hampshire group. I knew before I got there that the rooms would be small, so we booked 2 separate rooms, which were fine for 2 people. I found them perfectly fine for what we needed which was a clean comftable base. Some areas like the bathroom were a little tired, but then it is a 3*. There was a kettle, with tea/coffee, TV and hair dryer. The only recreational areas were a lounge in the reception area, where there was a coffee machine, vending machine, and internet. You could also buy a bottle of wine and drink it here if you wanted, there is no bar area. However, a minute or so walk up the street was a nice local bar where you could sit outside which my husband would take himself off to before we went out for dinner. There is a breakfast room, but we never visited this as we were on a room only rate, and to buy breakfast it was 15 euros each, which I thought a bit pricey. We found a nice little cafe a minute down the road which did everything from croissants to sausage sandwiches etc. Also near this cafe and beside the bar I mentioned are 3 Italian restaurants and a Chinese one. The prices were very reasonable in 1 one of the Italians. At the hotel, the reception staff were very helpful even though 1 lady didn't seem to speak a lot of English. The man who was usually on duty was very helpful when I asked him where the nearest shop was to buy paracetamol for my daughter, he very kindly gave me some out of the first aid kit. You do have to pay a refundable deposit when you check in, which is 50 euros, we only paid this once, although we had 2 rooms, this is to cover anything which you might charge to the room or telephone costs etc. we also paid a tourist tax on checking out, which they just took off the refunded deposit, this is approx 5% of the room cost. This appears to be based on the standard room rate, not what you paid through a supplier. To get to the central station, it took about 25 minutes to walk, however you can get the tram which stops outside the hotel. To be honest we never used the trams at all during the trip as we preferred to get to know the area. When choosing a hotel it is not important to work out how long it is from the central station as you won't need to be there until you go home anyway. My favourite area to eat on a night was definitely Rembrandt square area which once we got the route right it took about 15 minutes walk, the area was very safe to walk to. Also there is a close area which had a supermarket and some more bars which was about 10 mins walk away. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, now that I know where the places are to go I would probably try the other Hampshire hotels which were in Rembrandt area, the Eden, and the one in a great location called the Hampshire Rembrandt, however this is a 4* so will be more expensive. One tip I would give for families is that apart from pizzas, you will not find typical English type kids meals, no chicken nuggets or fish fingers unless you go to McDonald's for chicken nuggets!
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you very much for your description of your stay and the city. I am glad to read that you emjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Hans
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Couples
16-09-2014
“Lovely Hotel for a Short Stay”

My partner stayed in this hotel for my birthday in February for 2 nights. It is a lovely hotel, the rooms are modern and clean as is the rest of the hotel; extremely contrasting to some of the photos that other people have posted on here. Breakfast was the usual continental; bread, cheeses, ham, coffee, sausages, cereal etc. The free hot drinks machine in the Reception and free WiFi throughout the hotel were rather handy as well. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a brilliant location whether you are a couple on a short stay or a family as it is just out of the noisy atmosphere of the centre. It is across the road from the Artis Zoo which I would recommend for a day out and also is either a 15-20minute walk or 5 minute tram ride from Rembrandt Square. It is really useful to know that you can buy 24 and 48 hour passes for the trams as my partner and I looked at doing one of those Red Bus tours, but instead just picked up a map and bought a 24 hour pass for around 7 Euro each and went around Amsterdam this way, as a cheaper alternative.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear LIndsay, thank you very much for your nice words. It is nice to readthat you have had a good stay in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Back to the top
Ideal accessibility and practical services

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam’s accessibility by public transport is ideal for the business traveller. And the practical services present in the hotel include: free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a desk with internet connection in the room, a safe, luggage storage, laundry service and a wide range of good restaurants in the area, for a business lunch or extensive dinner.

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam doesn’t have its own rooms for meetings or parties, but it has many other possibilities on offer. If required, the hotel is pleased to provide for your meeting or party in cooperation with one of the colleague Hampshire Hotels in the neighbourhood: Hampshire Hotel – Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden. Or with the hotel’s other partners, such as Artis and Hortus Botanicus. Because wouldn’t it be simply fantastic to organise a party in Artis Zoo or between the exotic plants and butterflies in Hortus Botanicus!

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Back to the top