Menu
Fast booking: +31 (0)20 535 6888

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam ★★★

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com |
Show on map
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
“Family hotel located in the center of Amsterdam, in front of Artis Royal Zoo”
» Read more about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
Rooms all +
Family room
Small Double Room
Small Twin Room
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!
Book

Rooms, rates & package deals

Room types Make a booking
Family room 4 single beds | 28 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Small Double Room 1 double bed | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Small Twin Room 2 single beds | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard room 1 double bed or 2 single beds | 24 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet |refrigerator | sofa | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!


Back to the top

Hotel in the greenest part of Amsterdam

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is in the centre of Amsterdam, in Plantagebuurt, and is an ideal family hotel. This sociable neighbourhood on the east of the city has numerous great cafés and restaurants. Of course you shouldn’t miss a visit to the area’s most well-known attraction: Artis Zoo. With tropical fish in the monumental Aquarium, giraffes, elephants and other small, large, loveable and exciting animals.

There are also various interesting museums in this greenest part of the city. Such as Tropenmuseum with special stories and objects from across the world, Hermitage Amsterdam with it’s impressive exhibitions and Joods Historisch Museum. Also close to Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is Waterlooplein with it’s legendary flee market. You can relax, exercise or picnic in Oosterpark.

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | Show on map info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com
+31 (0)20 535 6888

Many great hotspots in the area

There’s not much chance that you’d get bored in this part of Amsterdam: there are simply too many great museums and other hotspots around Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam. You can purchase entrance tickets for various museums in the hotel, which will save you standing in a queue. Tips for great things in the area:

Museums
The Scheepvaartmuseum has recently been completely restored. Visit this beautiful building, the East India Company ship and interactive exhibitions about five hundred year’s of maritime history. Changing exhibitions are shown in Hermitage on the Amstel from the sizeable collection of the museum with the same name in Saint Petersburg.  Theater Het Koninklijke Theater Carré is the most coveted stage for artistes. That’s because of the hall itself, which has an unbelievable atmosphere, but also because of the list of legends who have once performed here. If you have the opportunity, watching a show here is highly-recommended.

Children
You only need to cross the road and you’re in Artis Royal Zoo. Artis Royal Zoo is open every Saturday until sunset in June, July and August. There are lots of activities and live music on these summer evenings. In Joods Historisch Museum, the children can visit the Hollander family. They can learn Hebrew and bake a kosher Challah bread. Magic butterflies fly around in Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. Tropenmuseum is expert in getting the children interested in the culture of other nations. Check the programme for special activities.

Park
Oosterpark is a wonderful place to enjoy relaxing, jogging, football or a picnic. Or to visit a festival in the summer, such as Amsterdam Roots Festival or Appelsap.

Market
There’s been a hectic trade in old books, second-hand clothes and bric-a-brac on Waterlooplein for more than a hundred years. Another traditional Amsterdam market is the multi-cultural Dappermarkt in Dapperstraat. Enjoy a Hollandse Nieuwe herring or a delicious kebab.

Read more

Back to the top

Would you like to know more about this hotel?

Events

Events

Sail Amsterdam Amsterdam

19 augustus - 23 augustus  

Back to the top
Facilities

Facilities

  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
  • Child-friendly
  • Lift
  • Laundry service
  • Family Room
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Luggage storage
  • Saftey deposit box
  • Non-smoking hotel
  • Non-smoking rooms
  • Ticket service
  • Heating

Back to the top
Location & Transportation

Location & Transportation

Connexxion Airport Shuttle
The company Connexxion offers a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel which is available between 6AM and 8PM and leaves every 30 minutes. You can get your tickets at the Connexxion desk on Schiphol Plaza (located next to the arrivals hall). Our receptionist will assist you in booking the shuttle back to the airport. The price for a return ticket is € 26,00 per person.

Public Transport
The hotel is easily accessible by public transport; trains from the airport to Amsterdam Central Station leave every 15 minutes. From Central Station tram number 9 (direction Diemen-Sniep) will take you to the hotel, you need to get out at the 7th stop “Artis” from there the hotel is at your left-hand side at about 70 meters.

The costs (for train + tram) are approximately € 7,- per person, the total travel time is around 45 minutes. The train service available 24 hours per day, at night trains run every 30 minutes. The trams run until midnight.

Taxi
You will find a line of taxi’s waiting outside the arrivals hall, the costs from the airport to the hotel are around € 45,-. The travel time is approximately 20 minutes, the service is available 24 hours per day.

Parking
Unfortunately the hotel does not have its own parking, but in the area around the hotel you will find sufficient space for on-road parking. The costs for a day ticket are € 36 (paid parking from 9:00 till 24:00 hours) or € 4 per hour.

You can use the parking garage of the Falcon Hotel in the Valkenburgerstraat (at 700 meters) at a reduced rate of € 20 per day. Ask our reception for a discount card.

Location & Transportation

Back to the top
Breakfast, lounging and dining

Breakfast, lounging and dining

There’s no restaurant at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. Nevertheless, a delicious breakfast awaits you every morning from 7:00 a.m., with coffee, tea, fruit juice, freshly-baked bread rolls, cheese, meats, sweets and hot dishes such as sausages, bacon and scrambled egg. In short, a complete starter package.

The Lancaster Lounge
Fresh snacks and drinks can be obtained in The Lancaster Lounge throughout the day. And the vending machine is available for you 24/7 with chilled drinks, chocolate and crisps.

Brasserie FLO Amsterdam
For an authentic French feel, visit Brasserie FLO, ten minutes walk from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. You’ll now you can’t go wrong as soon as you walk into FLO and come eye-to-eye with the beautiful fruits de mer buffet. This is French living! There are classic French dishes with an original, culinary twist on the menu. The kitchen works with the highest quality produce and adjusts the dishes to the season. A great address for shellfish lovers.

Breakfast, lounging and dining

Back to the top
Reviews

Reviews

57% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 678 reviews
  • Excellent
    85
  • Very good
    276
  • Average
    204
  • Poor
    77
  • Terrible
    36
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
GreenLeader
Vigo, Spain
3 of 5 stars
Couples
23-07-2015
“stay at amsterdam”

The hotel was a Little far from the city center, however all was great except for the room service because we had to complain reception desk about there were not enough gel and hygienic paper after 3 days spent there. We hoped not to have to ask for it.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans
Read more reviews
Hereford, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Family
23-07-2015
“Poor standard rooms, not what we expected from a British Airways City Break”

Arrived and rooms were not ready, however we were able to put our luggage in a 'secure room' this was not secure as the door was left wide open to the general public on view from the road. The outside of the hotel resembled a building site, not that of the one that is in all the photos, and we weren't told it was being renovated. On returning to the hotel we were given our rooms, which we 'shabby' and NOT 'shabby chic'. We had booked two rooms and my daughter and her friend had one, myself and my husband the other. The rooms were incredibly tiny, we were given an upgrade on one room, they hadn't another. I was told I could speak with the manager the next day, however do you really want to spend ages moaning? I didn't. It makes you feel miserable, so chose to leave it to the last day, to be told there wasn't a manager available. The bathrooms, well shower room, was mouldy and smelly. The water in the showers did not flow away properly, and so the second person showering had to stand in a puddle of dirty water! Monday we woke to demolition equipment on site, as the hotel has bought the place next door and is knocking it down before renovation takes place. The location is quite away from the centre for a short stay, but trams are available, but can be pricey if there are a few of you. On Tuesday morning, we woke to more machinery and noise. We were two floors up, and the next thing we knew! A man at the window cleaning the windows! Me having just got out of the shower! not a good look! When asked if they would like to put things right before leaving or offing some sort of compensation we were told no manager available. I also witnessed three other people making complaints as we waited for our taxi. Oh, we were given three small bottles of water as we left!
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your review and thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to read that your stay did not match with your expectations and that I was not able to meet you. Normally I am in the hotel every working day from 8:15 hours untill 17:00 hours but Wednessday was my day off. I am sorry that we missed eachother, I would have gladly talked to you. We did buy the building next door and we have the agrreement with the builders that they work between 09:00 and 17:00 hours only to avoid any noise and they really keep their promis. Again my apologies, I do hope that you have enjoyed your trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hans
Exeter, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Family
21-07-2015
“Great hotel in good location”

Stayed with our 17 year old son and had 2 rooms on the ground floor.Rooms are not huge but very comfy beds and were clean. We had breakfast every day which was of a good standard and choice that set us up for our day.Get the 9 or 14 tram to the centre which is just down the street opposite a great friendly pub!We brought Iamsterdam cards that gave us unlimited tram use,admissions to some museums,zoo,micropia,boat ride and restuarant discounts.Buy them at the airport at information....well worth it Would stay here again :)
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Wendy, thank you very much for sharing your review over here. I am happ y to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us we hope that we may welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Hans
Leeds, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Friends getaway
21-07-2015
“Average cheap hotel”

We arrived early and our room wasn't ready so the receptionist told us that we could leave our luggage in their secure storage room. Very friendly lady. The hotel is quite a walk from the main areas of Amsterdam but there is a tram stop not far from the hotel, although we didn't actually use the tram at all as we walked everywhere. It took us about 20/25 minutes to walk to Dam Square but it was a nice walk in the sunshine and easy to find your way to all the main tourist sites. The hotel is in a quiet area so perfect if you're not visiting Amsterdam for a wild weekend. It is situated directly opposite the zoo too! Our room - we had a room with four single beds in. The beds were actually very comfortable and had clean, crisp bedding. The room also had a wall mounted flat screen tv which we didn't use. There were electrical sockets next to each bed. The bathroom however was a disappointment. You walked through the main door to the room directly into the "bathroom". Where the actual room looked as though it had been decorated quite recently (albeit, slightly dirty - mucky marks on the walls, dust under the beds etc) the bathroom was very dated with grey/brown floor and wall tiles. The shower was in one open plan cubicle with a shower curtain hanging and the toilet in another cubicle. The shower itself was not very good and the water pressure not great. The toilet cubicle was very very clean though and had obviously been cleaned that day. In the main area of the bathroom/entrance foyer of the room there was a small sink and mirror although this area was very dimly lit. The room also had relatively high speed wifi which was excellent as I have stayed in far nicer hotels that either don't offer wifi in the rooms, wifi only for a fee or frustratingly slow speeds. We didn't eat in the hotel although they do offer free tea and coffee in the reception which was very welcome after a long day of travelling, there is also a vending machine and jugs of water provided. Check out was at 12 which was excellent and after we checked out we were able to store our luggage in their secure room and go out to explore the city again until our flight later that day. All in all it was an okay hotel to stay in for a short break especially for the very reasonable price but do not expect anything lavish. This hotel would really benefit from upgrading the bathrooms to fall in line with the standard of the actual rooms. We had a lovely stay in Amsterdam and the hotel served its purpose well.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, madam, thank you for writing your review and giving us your feedback. Kind regards, Hans
Granite Bay, California
 of 5 stars
Family
20-07-2015
“Underrated and a great deal”

The reviews are really helpful and I agree with most. The reason I say underrated is because the area is really quite nice and has a great local feel. My family of four (two teenage girls) walked to and from central city many times and easily. It's a solid 3 star hotel but it's very clean, very functional and comfortable. Not a lot of style but perfect home base for a three star. Don't plan to eat here! The restaurant is worth looking at only because it's so weird. Never ate there and wouldn't want to. Lounge is comfortable and free coffee and espresso are actually very good. Staff is friendly and speaks good English. You won't spend time at this hotel but as a solid three star, comfortable even if not fancy, easy going local area with great bars and restaurants within a 2 minute walk, centrally located, I would stay there again and I would recommend it. The city is vibrant so it's a nice respite and a phenomenal value for the price.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Hans

Back to the top
Ideal accessibility and practical services

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam’s accessibility by public transport is ideal for the business traveller. And the practical services present in the hotel include: free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a desk with internet connection in the room, a safe, luggage storage, laundry service and a wide range of good restaurants in the area, for a business lunch or extensive dinner.

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam doesn’t have its own rooms for meetings or parties, but it has many other possibilities on offer. If required, the hotel is pleased to provide for your meeting or party in cooperation with one of the colleague Hampshire Hotels in the neighbourhood: Hampshire Hotel – Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden. Or with the hotel’s other partners, such as Artis and Hortus Botanicus. Because wouldn’t it be simply fantastic to organise a party in Artis Zoo or between the exotic plants and butterflies in Hortus Botanicus!

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Back to the top