Menu
Fast booking: +31 (0)20 535 6888

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam ★★★

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com |
Show on map
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
“Family hotel located in the center of Amsterdam, in front of Artis Royal Zoo”
» Read more about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
Rooms all +
Family room
Small Double Room
Small Twin Room
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!
Book

Hotel in the greenest part of Amsterdam

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is in the centre of Amsterdam, in Plantagebuurt, and is an ideal family hotel. This sociable neighbourhood on the east of the city has numerous great cafés and restaurants. Of course you shouldn’t miss a visit to the area’s most well-known attraction: Artis Zoo. With tropical fish in the monumental Aquarium, giraffes, elephants and other small, large, loveable and exciting animals.

There are also various interesting museums in this greenest part of the city. Such as Tropenmuseum with special stories and objects from across the world, Hermitage Amsterdam with it’s impressive exhibitions and Joods Historisch Museum. Also close to Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is Waterlooplein with it’s legendary flee market. You can relax, exercise or picnic in Oosterpark.

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | Show on map info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com
+31 (0)20 535 6888

Many great hotspots in the area

There’s not much chance that you’d get bored in this part of Amsterdam: there are simply too many great museums and other hotspots around Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam. You can purchase entrance tickets for various museums in the hotel, which will save you standing in a queue. Tips for great things in the area:

Museums
The Scheepvaartmuseum has recently been completely restored. Visit this beautiful building, the East India Company ship and interactive exhibitions about five hundred year’s of maritime history. Changing exhibitions are shown in Hermitage on the Amstel from the sizeable collection of the museum with the same name in Saint Petersburg.  Theater Het Koninklijke Theater Carré is the most coveted stage for artistes. That’s because of the hall itself, which has an unbelievable atmosphere, but also because of the list of legends who have once performed here. If you have the opportunity, watching a show here is highly-recommended.

Children
You only need to cross the road and you’re in Artis Royal Zoo. Artis Royal Zoo is open every Saturday until sunset in June, July and August. There are lots of activities and live music on these summer evenings. In Joods Historisch Museum, the children can visit the Hollander family. They can learn Hebrew and bake a kosher Challah bread. Magic butterflies fly around in Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. Tropenmuseum is expert in getting the children interested in the culture of other nations. Check the programme for special activities.

Park
Oosterpark is a wonderful place to enjoy relaxing, jogging, football or a picnic. Or to visit a festival in the summer, such as Amsterdam Roots Festival or Appelsap.

Market
There’s been a hectic trade in old books, second-hand clothes and bric-a-brac on Waterlooplein for more than a hundred years. Another traditional Amsterdam market is the multi-cultural Dappermarkt in Dapperstraat. Enjoy a Hollandse Nieuwe herring or a delicious kebab.

Read more

Back to the top

Rooms, rates & package deals

Room types Make a booking
Family room 4 single beds | 28 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Small Double Room 1 double bed | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Small Twin Room 2 single beds | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard room 1 double bed or 2 single beds | 24 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet |refrigerator | sofa | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!


Back to the top

Would you like to know more about this hotel?

Facilities

Facilities

  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
  • Child-friendly
  • Lift
  • Laundry service
  • Family Room

Back to the top
Location & Transportation

Location & Transportation

Connexxion Airport Shuttle
The company Connexxion offers a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel which is available between 6AM and 8PM and leaves every 30 minutes. You can get your tickets at the Connexxion desk on Schiphol Plaza (located next to the arrivals hall). Our receptionist will assist you in booking the shuttle back to the airport. The price for a return ticket is € 26,00 per person.

Public Transport
The hotel is easily accessible by public transport; trains from the airport to Amsterdam Central Station leave every 15 minutes. From Central Station tram number 9 (direction Diemen-Sniep) will take you to the hotel, you need to get out at the 7th stop “Artis” from there the hotel is at your left-hand side at about 70 meters.

The costs (for train + tram) are approximately € 7,- per person, the total travel time is around 45 minutes. The train service available 24 hours per day, at night trains run every 30 minutes. The trams run until midnight.

Taxi
You will find a line of taxi’s waiting outside the arrivals hall, the costs from the airport to the hotel are around € 45,-. The travel time is approximately 20 minutes, the service is available 24 hours per day.

Parking
Unfortunately the hotel does not have its own parking, but in the area around the hotel you will find sufficient space for on-road parking. The costs for a day ticket are € 36 (paid parking from 9:00 till 24:00 hours) or € 4 per hour.

You can use the parking garage of the Falcon Hotel in the Valkenburgerstraat (at 700 meters) at a reduced rate of € 20 per day. Ask our reception for a discount card.

Location & Transportation

Back to the top
Breakfast, lounging and dining

Breakfast, lounging and dining

There’s no restaurant at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. Nevertheless, a delicious breakfast awaits you every morning from 7:00 a.m., with coffee, tea, fruit juice, freshly-baked bread rolls, cheese, meats, sweets and hot dishes such as sausages, bacon and scrambled egg. In short, a complete starter package.

The Lancaster Lounge
Fresh snacks and drinks can be obtained in The Lancaster Lounge throughout the day. And the vending machine is available for you 24/7 with chilled drinks, chocolate and crisps.

Brasserie FLO Amsterdam
For an authentic French feel, visit Brasserie FLO, ten minutes walk from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. You’ll now you can’t go wrong as soon as you walk into FLO and come eye-to-eye with the beautiful fruits de mer buffet. This is French living! There are classic French dishes with an original, culinary twist on the menu. The kitchen works with the highest quality produce and adjusts the dishes to the season. A great address for shellfish lovers.

Breakfast, lounging and dining

Back to the top
Reviews

Reviews

58% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 602 reviews
  • Excellent
    70
  • Very good
    247
  • Average
    181
  • Poor
    71
  • Terrible
    33
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
GreenLeader
2 of 5 stars
20-02-2015
“Disappointed ? ”

After reading reviews about the hotel on trip advisor I thought it was a decent hotel for its price but I was surprised firstly about the service which is like a One star hotel ; The good points : - they decorate your room upon request (some balloons, some paper work) - Free coffee in the lobby - comfortable room - The room is ok. -Clean coridor - the lady that occupied the room service Was really nice comparing it to the reception. The cons - ; -the bathroom was a joke. The toilet was so dirty and old that I had the feeling of living in the 18century. - the water pressure was so low that you wouldnt want to take a shower. - The staffs at the reception was soo rude. I would rate you guys 3/10 - the hotel smells bad and very old - No English Channel or French. -20minutes walk to the center - fake advertising pictures I wouldn't never go back again even on the day we check out, they were like ( go away) lol I would rate the hotel not more than 3over10
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Mr Shaf, thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry to read that your experience in our hotel did not match with your expectations. Kind regards, Hans
Read more reviews
London, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Couples
18-02-2015
“Definitely stay here again!”

Perfect location, warm and clean. Breakfast was brilliant with so much choice and as much as you can eat. Staff were very friendly and polite. Will be staying here again next time. Staff were helpful in providing a gluten free breakfast for me.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your kind words over here in your review. I am happy to read that you have had a good stay with us and we hope that we may see you soon. Kind regards, Hans
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Friends getaway
16-02-2015
“Girls' Summer Holiday”

Three friends and I booked this hotel for four nights on our recent mid-week trip to Amsterdam. The room was comfy and clean, the separate shower, sink and toilet were a definite bonus for four girls sharing one room! Our beds were made every day, the room tidied and tea, coffee and biscuits replenished. Cannot comment on breakfast as it was slightly more expensive than we could budget for, but we ate breakfast from supermarkets or Starbucks. A quick tram ride into town, and not unreasonably far to walk. At the end of our trip, the city tax did take us by surprise, however if we'd have known, it wouldn't have been as bad - we were just all a bit strapped for cash and didn't like to fork out more money than we thought was necessary. Overall, a comfortable stay and a reasonable price: would stay again next time we're in Amsterdam.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sarah, thank you for writing your review. We hope that we may welcome you back in our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Hans
 of 5 stars
Couples
15-02-2015
“City Break”

I booked this city break for my boyfriends 21st birthday. I booked through superbreak.com and we travelled to and from Amsterdam on the mini cruise. Included in the price of £120pp (which is amazing for what you get) is a 2 night stay in this hotel. The location is really good, it takes 10 minutes on the tram to get into the heart of Amsterdam. I strongly recommend buying a tram pass as you will use this a lot! This can be purchased from reception. The hotel is nice, there was a strange smell which you sort of got used to after a while! The room was comfortable and modern, not that you spend a great deal of time in there as there's just so much to do in Amsterdam. The 50 euro deposit was a bit of a shock but that was refunded straight away on departure. This hotel is good if you're looking for somewhere close, comfortable and clean to get you're head down. If you're going to visit Amsterdam I would recommend visiting Anne Franks house, the Hard Rock Cafe and if you're up for a laugh.. the sex museum. The shopping is amazing and when we went, just before Christmas there were tons of market stalls and beautiful Christmas lights. Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend!
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Amelia, thank you for your kind words in your review. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans
Liverpool, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
14-02-2015
“Be aware of the €50 deposit”

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. As it was our first time to Amsterdam we were unsure about where exactly the best location to stay is. After reading the reviews about the great location we decided to stay here. The location of the hotel is good if you don't mind a 20-30 minute walk to the main centre or a short tram ride. We found the area very quiet and pleasant. The room was tiny but was okay for just the two of us. However the bath room was a joke, sitting on the toilet was impossible without sitting sideways with you legs under the sink - not ideal. Our beds were made each day but that was it. The sink was cleaned once and the sheets were not changed. As for breakfast we did not have a good experience. Walking in to breakfast I asked the man twice how much it was to just be told not to worry about it we will pay when we check out. I thought nothing of this but I did not expect to pay €30 for a plate of cold scrambled egg! The thing that really ruined our stay in this hotel was being told we have to pay €50 up front to be able to check in. We had not been told anything about this beforehand and so we only had planned amount spends with us. The woman was quite rude and told us it was incase anything happened to the room. She didn't mention anything about City tax either. Upon checking out the same woman again was quite rude. After breakfast and an unexpected €18 city tax we did not get our €50 back. It's a good job we still had a little bit of money left to get the train to the airport and didn't rely on our deposit. The only positives we found of this hotel were the free wifi which always had a good connection - the 2 minute walk to the tram stop straight into the centre and the free coffees from reception. Overall I would not stay here again.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review overhere. I am sorry to read that your experience in our hotel did not meet your expectations. From you review I cannot see where you have booked your rroom but all the agents and sites we work with are informed about a deposit to be paid or a credit card number to be handed for incidentals at check in. They are also informed that the local tourist tax (city tax) has to be paid extra on check out. My apologies for the fact that you were not told or informed when you have made the booking. Kind regards, Hans

Back to the top
Ideal accessibility and practical services

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam’s accessibility by public transport is ideal for the business traveller. And the practical services present in the hotel include: free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a desk with internet connection in the room, a safe, luggage storage, laundry service and a wide range of good restaurants in the area, for a business lunch or extensive dinner.

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam doesn’t have its own rooms for meetings or parties, but it has many other possibilities on offer. If required, the hotel is pleased to provide for your meeting or party in cooperation with one of the colleague Hampshire Hotels in the neighbourhood: Hampshire Hotel – Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden. Or with the hotel’s other partners, such as Artis and Hortus Botanicus. Because wouldn’t it be simply fantastic to organise a party in Artis Zoo or between the exotic plants and butterflies in Hortus Botanicus!

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Back to the top