Menu
Fast booking: +31 (0)20 535 6888

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam ★★★

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com |
Show on map
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
“Family hotel located in the center of Amsterdam, in front of zoo Artis”
» Read more about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
Rooms all +
Family room
Standard Double Non Refundable
Standard room with 1 double bed
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!
Book

Hotel in the greenest part of Amsterdam

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is in the centre of Amsterdam, in Plantagebuurt, and is an ideal family hotel. This sociable neighbourhood on the east of the city has numerous great cafés and restaurants. Of course you shouldn’t miss a visit to the area’s most well-known attraction: Artis Zoo. With tropical fish in the monumental Aquarium, giraffes, elephants and other small, large, loveable and exciting animals.

There are also various interesting museums in this greenest part of the city. Such as Tropenmuseum with special stories and objects from across the world, Hermitage Amsterdam with it’s impressive exhibitions and Joods Historisch Museum. Also close to Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam is Waterlooplein with it’s legendary flee market. You can relax, exercise or picnic in Oosterpark.

Plantage Middenlaan 48 - 1018DH - Amsterdam, Nederland | Show on map info.lancaster@hampshire-hotels.com
+31 (0)20 535 6888

Many great hotspots in the area

There’s not much chance that you’d get bored in this part of Amsterdam: there are simply too many great museums and other hotspots around Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam. You can purchase entrance tickets for various museums in the hotel, which will save you standing in a queue. Tips for great things in the area:

Museums
The Scheepvaartmuseum has recently been completely restored. Visit this beautiful building, the East India Company ship and interactive exhibitions about five hundred year’s of maritime history. Changing exhibitions are shown in Hermitage on the Amstel from the sizeable collection of the museum with the same name in Saint Petersburg.  Theater Het Koninklijke Theater Carré is the most coveted stage for artistes. That’s because of the hall itself, which has an unbelievable atmosphere, but also because of the list of legends who have once performed here. If you have the opportunity, watching a show here is highly-recommended.

Children
You only need to cross the road and you’re in Artis Zoo. Artis is open every Saturday until sunset in June, July and August. There are lots of activities and live music on these summer evenings. In Joods Historisch Museum, the children can visit the Hollander family. They can learn Hebrew and bake a kosher Challah bread. Magic butterflies fly around in Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. Tropenmuseum is expert in getting the children interested in the culture of other nations. Check the programme for special activities.

Park
Oosterpark is a wonderful place to enjoy relaxing, jogging, football or a picnic. Or to visit a festival in the summer, such as Amsterdam Roots Festival or Appelsap.

Market
There’s been a hectic trade in old books, second-hand clothes and bric-a-brac on Waterlooplein for more than a hundred years. Another traditional Amsterdam market is the multi-cultural Dappermarkt in Dapperstraat. Enjoy a Hollandse Nieuwe herring or a delicious kebab.

lees meer

Back to the top

Rooms, rates & package deals

Room types Make a booking
Family room 4 single beds | 28 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard Double Non Refundable alleen voor Laterooms Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard room with 1 double bed 1 double bed | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard room with 2 single beds 2 single beds | 16 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard Twin Non Refundable alleen voor Laterooms Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Superior room 1 double bed or 2 single beds | 24 sqm | shower, hair dryer and toilet |refrigerator | sofa | free Wi-Fi | coffee and tea facility | flat screen-TV | desk | safe | luxurious bathroom amenities Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!


Back to the top

Would you like to know more about this hotel?

Facilities

Facilities

  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Green Key Silver
  • Cycle hire
  • Child-friendly
  • Lift
  • Laundry service

Back to the top
Location & Transportation

Location & Transportation

Connexxion Airport Shuttle
The company Connexxion offers a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel which is available between 6AM and 8PM and leaves every 30 minutes. You can get your tickets at the Connexxion desk on Schiphol Plaza (located next to the arrivals hall). Our receptionist will assist you in booking the shuttle back to the airport. The price for a return ticket is € 26,00 per person.

Public Transport
The hotel is easily accessible by public transport; trains from the airport to Amsterdam Central Station leave every 15 minutes. From Central Station tram number 9 (direction Diemen-Sniep) will take you to the hotel, you need to get out at the 7th stop “Artis” from there the hotel is at your left-hand side at about 70 meters.

The costs (for train + tram) are approximately € 7,- per person, the total travel time is around 45 minutes. The train service available 24 hours per day, at night trains run every 30 minutes. The trams run until midnight.

Taxi
You will find a line of taxi’s waiting outside the arrivals hall, the costs from the airport to the hotel are around € 45,-. The travel time is approximately 20 minutes, the service is available 24 hours per day.

Parking
Unfortunately the hotel does not have its own parking, but in the area around the hotel you will find sufficient space for on-road parking. The costs for a day ticket are € 36 (paid parking from 9:00 till 24:00 hours) or € 4 per hour.

You can use the parking garage of the Falcon Hotel in the Valkenburgerstraat (at 700 meters) at a reduced rate of € 20 per day. Ask our reception for a discount card.

Location & Transportation

Back to the top
Breakfast, lounging and dining

Breakfast, lounging and dining

There’s no restaurant at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. Nevertheless, a delicious breakfast awaits you every morning from 7:00 a.m., with coffee, tea, fruit juice, freshly-baked bread rolls, cheese, meats, sweets and hot dishes such as sausages, bacon and scrambled egg. In short, a complete starter package.

The Lancaster Lounge
Fresh snacks and drinks can be obtained in The Lancaster Lounge throughout the day. And the vending machine is available for you 24/7 with chilled drinks, chocolate and crisps.

Brasserie FLO Amsterdam
For an authentic French feel, visit Brasserie FLO, ten minutes walk from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam. You’ll now you can’t go wrong as soon as you walk into FLO and come eye-to-eye with the beautiful fruits de mer buffet. This is French living! There are classic French dishes with an original, culinary twist on the menu. The kitchen works with the highest quality produce and adjusts the dishes to the season. A great address for shellfish lovers.

Breakfast, lounging and dining

Back to the top
Reviews

Reviews

56% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 589 reviews
  • Excellent
    55
  • Very good
    249
  • Average
    184
  • Poor
    66
  • Terrible
    35
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Lincoln, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars
Friends getaway
19-07-2014
“Mixed experience”

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in July 2014. Experience was very mixed. It is well-located and easy to get to, there are many nice places to eat/socialise in the area if you don't want to do the more busy, tourist places in the City Centre. Staff were helpful and the hotel reception with its ice machine and free tea/coffee machine was also very useful whilst you plan where to go/meet up etc. However, the room was very quirky - toilet and shower in separate 'cupboards', sink in the room. The room was large but the whole place had a grubby feel and the toilet had a lingering odour. Their towel policy is a bit different from the norm - we left some on the floor on the basis that we thought they would be changed - they were re-folded and put back on the shelf! With typical English reticence we went with it ( it was only two nights) but I would not re-book or recommend. It's a shame because there is a lot going for it and it is not the most expensive hotel to stay at - just a bit more attention to detail and it would be good.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Wendy, thank for writing your experience overhere. It is good to read that you enjoyed our staff and service. We have changed the towel procedure this summer due to the warmth and the fact that our guests would like to shower more and use a different towel. In the bathroom we have expelained about the towel procedure (towel on the floor is change, towel hanging on the door means using it again) Unfortunately we have had may complaints from guests who did not understand the standard procedure and therefor we have changed our policy for this summer as a test. The housekeeping did not fold up the used towels, they were just changed for clean ones and put back on the shelf. I hope this explains the towel incident. Kind regards, Hans
Read more reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Couples
17-07-2014
“Weekend retreat”

Stopped at Lancaster three nights over the last month.no frills rooms at a good price just far enough out of the centre to be relaxing.number 9 tram from Central . Friendly staff and a good breakfast though the second day went into the centre for a change of scenery.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Glenn, Thank you for your nice review and kind words, please stop by another time. Kind regards, Hans
Leicester, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Couples
29-06-2014
“Brilliant hotel, definitely recommended!”

we stayed at this hotel for three nights in june 2014. it was a great stay! we had a really early flight and obviously couldn't check into the hotel immediately but the staff were helpful with assisting us store our luggage while we went out into amsterdam to kill some time. we were given a bigger room than we expected (room for 4 people even though there was only 2 of us), so we had a lot of space and the bathroom was good too. the beds were especially comfy. the location of the hotel is really impressive for the price we paid. it is a five minute tram ride to the centre of Amsterdam, with a tram stop right outside the hotel, or a pleasant twenty minute walk. (public transport in amsterdam is generally really easy to understand) there are plenty of things to do in the immediate local area too - the zoo (which was a lot bigger and better than we expected), a busy street market, a supermarket, lots of quirky clothes stores, a park, coffee shops and canals everywhere. it was nice to stay outside of the busy centres as it felt a lot safer walking home late at night. upon check-out, we were faced with an extra charge of almost 300 euros for the upgraded room which we had apparently asked for. but after explaining that this larger room was the one we had been given by the reception staff, these fees were avoided. the only extra charge we had was a city charge of 14 euros (congestion charge if you like) which was no problem at all. overall a really great stay! amsterdam is an amazing place. would definitely recommend staying here at this hotel too.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for writing your review overhere. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans
Stirling, United Kingdom
 of 5 stars
Family
17-06-2014
“Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam”

This hotel is like the curate's egg - good in parts! To start, it's easy to find and easy to get to by tram 9 from Centraal Station, Amsterdam. It's situated in a green and leafy area which was traditionally a Jewish residential area, and across the road from Artis Zoo. There's a tram stop about 200 yards along the road, and it's about a 20-30 minute walk to the city centre. There are good cafes and bars and bakeries in the nearby area and it's pleasant for walking. There are canals just around the corner, lovely for strolling in the evening. On arrival, the building sits on a corner opposite a small park/football area and looks very nice. However, when checking in we were immediately asked to pay 50 euros for 'tickets, extras and drinks' - we said we didn't require any of these but were told it was compulsory - we paid up, but weren't happy and this gave us a really poor initial impression. We hadn't been told by our travel agent there would be a charge so it was very annoying and we didn't know if we'd get the money back or not, which really put a cloud over our arrival. (I've never been asked to pay this in any other hotel I've stayed in). Then our twin room was made up as a double - there were two single beds but they were pushed together and the room was so small it was very difficult to rearrange the furniture differently. We managed, but the bathroom door them could not fully open because our room was so small and fitted wall lights made rearranging the beds difficult. The room was really too small to be used as a twin. The en-suite bathroom was also incredibly tiny - probably about 3 ft wide by 5 ft - clean enough, but to use the loo you had a wedge your knees under the sink. Not great - and for anyone with mobility problems at all or taller or larger than average it would be impossible. Fresh towels were provided on the 3rd day only and the sink was cleaned then too (don't know if this is normal or if it was because the door wouldn't fully open as a result of us having to rearrange the beds). Décor wise, the room was chocolate brown/grey and russet so not the best, and the window nets and glass were fairly unclean. Our room was 106, on the front left corner and pretty noisy - you can filter our the traffic/tram noise though - but there was lots of noise from reception with radios, phones ringing, people coming and going all night which woke us up a few times. The hotel is opposite the Artis Zoo - you get noise from it too, but it's actually brilliant to wake up with howler monkeys chorusing, and there are wild green parakeets zooming around the park calling to each other too - which we really liked. There is a small safe in the wardrobe (we didn't use it, so can't comment if it worked) and the hotel expressly say they are not responsible if there are any thefts from your room - so take care of your belongings and valuables! There's also a plug in fan, kettle and tea/coffee and mugs and the window will open for fresh air. To be honest, the room was a bit grim - not somewhere you look forward to coming back to. It did the job for the 3 nights we were there, but only just and it was a relief to leave, especially considering the price and the claim that the hotel is 3 star. Happily, breakfast was very good every day and a saving grace of the establishment - it's a self service buffet down stairs and along a series of corridors - and there's a great selection of muesli, granola, yogurt, dried and fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea, chocolate, sausages or bacon, boiled and scrambled eggs. There's also cold meat, cheeses and a variety of different breads, rusks, gingerloaf, cucumber, tomatoes, preserves and spreads. No complaints about breakfast or the breakfast staff who were very efficient and pleasant! Other guests were students, couples, older people from all over Europe - all politely breakfasting away. When we checked out we were relieved to get our 50 euros back - another member of staff told us the charge was not for extras of any kind, but 'in case something happened with the room' - so I imagine a deterrent against vandalising guests. Apparently this is standard in Amsterdam, so we were told, but if you're not expecting it, to be hit with a fee on arrival gives a terrible impression and is a bit of a downer, and of course you only get it back when you're leaving - so build that in when you're planning your holiday spending money.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Stormcloud46, thank you very much for your extensive comment about your stay. I am sorry to hear that the deposit policy was not explained by your travel agency. We ask a credit card number or an amount of € 50,- as a deposit for any extra's like tourist tax, phonecalls etc. Guests may put extra's like bike rental, stamps or museumtickets on their room and any difference to this deposit will be returned at check out. This is quiet common in most hotels. I hope this explains the reason for asking for the € 50,-. We do hope that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you once more. Kind regards, Hans
chicago
 of 5 stars
Friends getaway
06-06-2014
“Best Value”

Before i leave review i have to thank to Mr Richard for such great service .Can not wait to come back again to your great hotel.Great service and organization in all ways.i am recomending hotel to all Amsterdam visitors.Easy to walk around and easy to reach from airport.Hello from Ljiljana and Hrvoje as well:)
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your kind words overhere. I will pass your thanks to Richard, it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Hans

Back to the top
Ideal accessibility and practical services

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam’s accessibility by public transport is ideal for the business traveller. And the practical services present in the hotel include: free Wi-Fi in the lobby, a desk with internet connection in the room, a safe, luggage storage, laundry service and a wide range of good restaurants in the area, for a business lunch or extensive dinner.

Hampshire Hotel – Lancaster Amsterdam doesn’t have its own rooms for meetings or parties, but it has many other possibilities on offer. If required, the hotel is pleased to provide for your meeting or party in cooperation with one of the colleague Hampshire Hotels in the neighbourhood: Hampshire Hotel – Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and Amsterdam American Hotel - Hampshire Eden. Or with the hotel’s other partners, such as Artis and Hortus Botanicus. Because wouldn’t it be simply fantastic to organise a party in Artis Zoo or between the exotic plants and butterflies in Hortus Botanicus!

Ideal accessibility and practical services

Back to the top