Menu
Fast booking:

Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden ★★★★

Stationsweg 4 - 8911 AG - Leeuwarden, Nederland | info.oranjehotel@hampshire-hotels.com |
Show on map
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
Exterieur
  • Exterieur
“Right across the central train station in nearby the historic center of Leeuwarden”
» Read more about Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden
  • Green Key Gold
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Parking (paid)
Rooms all +
Single room
Standard Double room
Superior room
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!
Book

Relax in a historic city hotel

Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden – Hampshire Eden is in the perfect situation: close to Leeuwarden’s historic city centre and directly opposite the station. It is in an ideal location to arrive by train, but this city hotel dating from 1879 is also easy to reach by car: just an hour and a half drive from the Randstad. It has all the ingredients for a relaxing weekend, such as beautiful terraces, shops, restaurants and cafés.

In addition to great shopping and fun entertainment, the capital of Friesland also offers a huge range of cultural activities. The city’s hot spots are mostly within walking distance of Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden. These include the Fries Museum, Natuurmuseum Fryslân and Aqua Zoo Friesland. You’ll see many highlights just by walking through this historic city centre, such as the old city walls, the majestic canals, the 40 metre-high Oldehove tower (the Frisian Tower of Pisa), the Sint Bonifatiuskerk and the Prinsentuin.

Stationsweg 4 - 8911 AG - Leeuwarden, Nederland | Show on map info.oranjehotel@hampshire-hotels.com
+31 (0)58 212 6241

Discover Leeuwarden and surroundings

Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden – Hampshire Eden is very centrally situated, close to Leeuwarden’s historic city centre. On leaving the hotel you’ll find yourself in an outdoor museum within just a few minutes. Take the time for an extensive city walk along the monumental city walls, through parks and past houses and churches. And climb the slanting Oldehove tower, with its beautiful views across the city. A few tips:

Museums
The Fries Museum is comprehensive: archaeology, modern and contemporary art, and a collection about the spy extraordinary Mata Hari, who was born in Leeuwarden as Margaretha Zelle. The Fries Verzetsmuseum is also part of the Fries Museum. Natuurmuseum Fryslân is a great day out for the whole family. You can see a sperm whale from close quarters, take a flight above Fryslân or walk on the bottom of a ditch.

Theatre
Stadsschouwburg De Harmonie is one of the largest theatres in the Netherlands. It has an extensive range of large and smaller performances (theatre, music, dance, musicals and cabaret).

Park
The history of De Prinsentuin begins in 1648. Today, the park is the place to relax in the summer months and enjoy concerts and festivals.

On the water
Walked enough? Then why not discover Leeuwarden by boat? You can hire small boats from various boat hire companies.

Children
In Aqua Zoo Friesland children come face-to-face with fur seals, seals, penguins and other sea animals. And they can really let themselves go in the playground.

Elfstedentocht
If we ever hear the historic words “it giet oan” then Leeuwarden is the place to be. Because it’s the start and finish of the Elfstedentocht.

lees meer

Back to the top

Rooms, rates & package deals

Room types Make a booking
Single room Queen bed | 21 sqm | Shower | free Wi-Fi | airco | coffee and tea facility | minibar | flatscreen TV | safe Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Standard Double room Kingsize bed or two single beds | 22-25 sqm | shower/bath | free Wi-Fi | airco | coffee and tea facilities | minibar | flatscreen TV | safe Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

Superior room kingsize bed or two single beds | 27-30sqm | shower and bath | free Wi-Fi | airco | coffee and tea facilities | sofabed | flatscreen TV | large desk | safe Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!

The Family room 2 single beds and 1 sofabed | for 2 adults and 2 children up to 12 years | shower/bath | airco | coffee and tea facilities | flatscreen TV | safe Check availability

There’s nowhere cheaper!


Back to the top

Would you like to know more about this hotel?

Facilities

Facilities

  • Green Key Gold
  • Wi-Fi (free)
  • Parking (paid)
  • Golf course in the area
  • Terrace
  • Bar
  • Cycle hire
  • Restaurant
  • Meeting rooms
  • Room service
  • Pets allowed
  • Child-friendly
  • Wheelchair-friendly
  • Laundry service
  • No credit card needed

Back to the top
From perfect espresso to delicious dinner

From perfect espresso to delicious dinner

Restaurant Van Buren
Whatever the time of day, you’re always welcome in Van Buren restaurant. Try the most delicious coffee (Pizza d’Oro) and tea (Betjeman & Barton), or a perfectly made espresso, cappuccino or latte macchiato. But you can also enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet and delicious lunch. The regularly changing menu offers a choice of sandwiches, salads and hot lunches. In the evenings you can visit Van Buren for an intimate dinner. In addition to à-la-carte dishes, the restaurant also offers a three-course menu every day.

Bar Van Buren
You should visit Van Buren for your Friday afternoon drinks. With a fine bottle of wine and delicious appetizers its the ideal way to end a busy working week. And on Sunday afternoons you can enjoy high tea with scones, brownies, muffins, sandwiches, chocolates and the finest flavours of Betjeman & Barton tea.

From perfect espresso to delicious dinner

Back to the top
Reviews

Reviews

89% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 135 reviews
  • Excellent
    47
  • Very good
    72
  • Average
    12
  • Poor
    2
  • Terrible
    2
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 of 5 stars
Business
14-08-2014
“Oddly, I did enjoy my stay but ...”

I stayed for a couple of nights on business and, whilst the hotel itself is very pleasant and in a very convenient location for both rail station and town, it was a comedy of errors. Some things were minor annoyances such as: - every time I called at reception there was only one member of staff present and invariably they were dealing with a complex set of enquiries (my Dutch is almost non-existent so I had to guess at the exact nature of the enquiries, but they clearly involved maps and directions to places in town) which led to a long queue developing and an average wait of between 10-15 minutes. This could be forgiven on check-in but having to wait 15 minutes to ask a simple question is a little tiresome. - when I checked in I made a point of specifying that the bill had to have the company name on it (otherwise I can't claim back my expense) and I provided the name and address to them at the time. At checkout I reiterated this request before handing over my credit card and was told, yes, this was fine. I was therefore a little surprised to see that the company name was NOT on the bill at all. When I pointed this out I was told that my transaction had already gone through and that they couldn't modify the bill without issuing a credit and then running the whole process again. I insisted they did so - how mean of me eh? Please remember that just 30 seconds earlier I'd attempted to avoid this situation just in case they hadn't taken it on board when I checked in. Totally bizarre and reminiscent of something from Fawlty Towers! Some things were really very annoying such as: - on returning to the hotel from work I stopped at reception and (after the customary 10-15 minute wait) asked if I could please have an iron and ironing board sent to my room. I was told this was fine and they'd send one right up. Two hours later nothing had arrived. I let it pass and went out for dinner hoping that perhaps the iron would be there on my return. Nope. I phoned down to reception to ask what had happened, as 4.5 hours had now elapsed since I made the request. I was given an apology and told it would now be sent up immediately. Thirty minutes later it still hadn't arrived so I called down again and was told "we sent it to the wrong room" with another apology and a promise to deliver it immediately. This time it did arrive promptly. Yay. Never mind that it was now time to sleep and that I therefore had to set my alarm 30 minutes early so I'd have time to do my ironing in the morning. - talking of the morning ... I was at breakfast and about to spread some butter on my toast when I glanced down and noticed the butter was an odd colour. On smelling it's clear that it was old and rancid. The butter here comes in pre-packed form and there stamped right on the packet was the use-by date of two months earlier. I went back over to the breakfast bar and checked a few more of the packets, to find almost all of them were 2-3 months out of date. I brought this to the attention of the staff member on duty in the restaurant and he looked and then just smiled at me. He obviously did take some action as the next day the old packs were nowhere to be seen but really there's no excuse for this sort of thing. If they don't check on this what else are they sloppy about? - the free internet was so slow as to be almost unusable so I plumped for one of the paid options - I think they called it Gold - which was quite reasonably priced at a few euros for 24 hours. This worked fine for a few minutes but was then disconnected for reasons unknown. On attempting to reconnect, with the user name and password provided, connection was refused. I suspect that the system attempts to prevent multiple users connecting with the same credentials and was caught out by the line dropping (for whatever reason) without going through the logout process. I reported it to reception (with only a 5 minute wait this time - yay) and they did remove the additional charge, Unfortunately the disconnection and refusal to reconnect happened again and was a major inconvenience as I was attempting to take part in an online conference at the time. Rather than attempt a third time I resorted to the free internet which, whilst very slow, did at least stay connected. Okay, sorry for the novel-length review and thanks for hanging in there if you're still reading. As my title says, oddly I came away with quite a nice feeling about the hotel. It's certainly a pleasant place to stay and the staff were very friendly (if not very efficient) so I might even consider staying here again. Yep I know, I must be mad, but there it is.
Read more reviews
 of 5 stars
Business
12-08-2014
“Good”

The hotel located near an office of our partners, that is why I have been there. I liked the hotel very much: rooms are bright and clean, staff are friendly and positive, despite of the language problems from our side. And it is 1 minute walking from the centeer.
Owner Response of Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden
Dear Christina, Wauw, a 5 star review is a compliment on it's own. Thank you for your review about your stay with us and we hope to see you once again in the future. With kind regards
Guam, Mariana Islands
 of 5 stars
Couples
13-07-2014
“Friendly & Luxurious Hotel”

First off... Stephanie, the front desk reception clerk, was awesome. She was so friendly, positive, helpful, and I loved that she always had a smile on her face. I loved this hotel. My husband and I stayed here while in Leeuwarden visiting with his best friends. We had a nice room with the view of the train station which is conveniently located right across the street. Nightlife, restaurants, and bars are within walking distance because it is located in the city center. We ate at the hotel restaurant... it was quite a delicious experience... GREAT food and service there too. The room was pretty clean... the only thing wrong was the build up of black dust that fell on me while I was in the shower. It came down from the ceiling when I accidentally pointed the shower head in that direction while putting it back on the handle thingy. OTHERWISE, the room was SPOTLESS and VERY clean. The hotel has free and paid wifi in the rooms... We requested a King sized bed for our room and they made it happen. We decided that we're definitely staying here again when we visit Leeuwarden in the future. Also, we've already recommended this hotel to our friends AND family!
Owner Response of Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden
Dear guest, What a great review! We're really happy with the time and effort that you used to write about your stay. We have giving the compliments to Stéphanie, our housekeeping and restaurant team. We would love to welcome you again!
Borrego Springs, California
 of 5 stars
Couples
02-06-2014
“4-Star Hotel with 5-Star Service”

The rooms are clean and nice and modern, but that's now what make me rate the Oranje Hotel so wonderful. The service from all the staff was friendly and excellent. Room service was delightful. The hotel restaurant delicious. The location brilliant. The only "fly in the ointment" was that housekeeping did a rather poor cleaning on our two night stay - on the second day the coffee cups had not replaced nor were the coffee & condiment packets, etc. Little things in the scheme of a great hotel experience.
Owner Response of Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden - Hampshire Eden
Dear Sir/Madam Thunefeld, What a lovely comments to read. We are very glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel! However we will take your points about the room cleaning at heart and discuss them within our team! Hopefully we may welcome you again next time you will visit Leeuwarden! With kind regards,
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
 of 5 stars
Friends getaway
25-03-2014
“Beware!”

Apart from helpful reception staff this is a truly ghastly little Hotel. Service in the bars and restaurant is at best perfunctory (in fact waiting for 20 minutes in the bar on 25.03.14 yielded no service at all); breakfast (entirely self-service) is dishonestly expensive at 15 Euros a head; the rooms (second rate & tired with poly-ceiling tiles) are so dark you can't see your hand in front of your face - and the same applies to the common parts. The bathrooms are tiny; only soap in a wall dispenser & the heating/air-con is noisy and does not work properly. The TV choice available is slight & the TVs too small. Internet connection is a palavour. Overall the impression is that this is a Hotel being run for the convenience of the staff/management rather than the customers. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else. ""Provincial" hardly does this awful place justice. I am here now - I wish I wasn't.

Back to the top
The ideal location for your business event

The ideal location for your business event

Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden – Hampshire Eden has all the facilities available to make your business stay in Leeuwarden successful. You focus on your business, the hotel takes care of the rest. There’s free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, 24-hour reception, 24-hour room service, discounted day card for the Health Club, spacious lounge for meetings, a car park under the hotel and ideal accessibility by public transport.

Events, meetings and parties
You can exclusively hire the Oranje Hotel Leeuwarden – Hampshire Eden for a meeting, congress, seminar, trade fair, wedding party or dinner. It’s central situation and good accessibility by train and car make the hotel an extremely favourable location. For business meetings you can use five different rooms, provided with Wi-Fi, air-conditioning and all the equipment you may need. You can hire the rooms separately or in combination, and there is space for up to 400 people.

View the meeting room overview here

Attractive Meeting Deals from €15,- per person

Hampshire Hotels has compiled a number of attractive meeting deals for you. All required services are included and the price is per person. Nice and simple!

View all meeting deals & prices
The ideal location for your business event

Back to the top
Celebrate your wedding in Leeuwarden

Celebrate your wedding in Leeuwarden

Your wedding day should be unforgettable and above all hassle free. This is one of the most important days of your life and also one of the best. That’s why it's very important that all your wishes are taken into account, from the ceremony to the wedding night, so that, together with your family and friends, you can enjoy the day to the full. Hampshire Hotels are happy to help you organise your wedding right down to the last detail.

Official wedding venue : No
Maximum number of reception guests : 500
Maximum number of dinner guests : 300
Maximum number of party guests : 400
Bridal suite available : Yes
Number of rooms : 78
Entertainment management service : Yes
Wedding cake service : Yes
Flower-arranging service : Yes

More information about weddings
http://www.hampshire-hotels.com/uploads/files/images/Stock/Trouwen_Boeket_CloseUp.jpg

Back to the top