Fast booking: +31(0)20 5205 555

Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo ★★★★

B.P. Hofstedestraat 50 - 7551 DG - Hengelo, Nederland | |
Show on map
« Back to overview
View 27 large photos
» Read more about Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
Rooms all +
Junior Suite
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room kingsize bed
Check availability Lowest price, no booking costs!

Ideal meeting location

Are you coming for a business meeting? Then Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo has a number of extra services for you: free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, express check-in, shuttle and taxi services and various possibilities in the area for dinner with business relations.

Meetings with or without culinary extras
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo is in the centre of Hengelo and is easy to reach by public transport and car. This makes it an ideal meeting location. For your convenience, various meeting package deals have been compiled, from a 4-hour to a 32-hour package deal. Each package includes room hire and culinary extras. On request, the hotel can also provide flip charts, overhead projectors and a sound system. In principle, meeting package deals are offered from ten people. And of course, for each package you can indicate your specific requirements.

Request a quotation here
Ideal meeting location

▲ Back to top

Rooms & Rates

Room type Select room
Junior Suite kingsize bed | 42 sqm | bathroom with separate shower and bath | WiFi | coffee and tea facilities Reserve
Standard Twin Room twin beds or king bed | 31 sqm | bathroom with separate shower and bath | free WiFi | coffee and tea facilities Reserve
Standard Twin Room kingsize bed king bed | 31sqm | bathroom with separate shower and bath | free wifi | coffee and tea facilities Reserve
Superior Twin Room twin beds | 31 sqm | bathroom with separate shower & bath | free WiFi | bathrobe and slippers | Nespresso | Mineral water on arrival day Reserve

▲ Back to top

Attractive meeting deals from € 22,50 p.p.

Hampshire Hotels has compiled a number of attractive meeting deals for you. All required services are included and the price is per person. Nice and simple!

These are average prices and subject to availability.

All prices are including VAT and for a minimum of 10 persons.

You will receive: 4 hour
€ 38,50
8 hour
€ 48,50
12 hour
€ 74,50
24 hour
€ 144,50
32 hour
€ 191,50
Plenary meeting room          
Projector & screen          
Flipchart, markers & paper          
Notepads & pens          
Unlimited coffee & tea          
Hampshire Break (this is a morning or afternoon break with a snack)          
3-course dinner          
Overnight stay including breakfast          
Lunch (day 2)          

Request quotation

Or call: +31 (0)20 - 5205 555

▲ Back to top

Do you require assistance?

We?d be delighted to help you!
Call us on +31 20 520 5555: +31 (0)74 851 68 00

Meeting room name m2 Height Wheelchair Air-conditioning Daylight Wi-Fi Number of people per layout
Zaal 1A 68 2,18 m         0 45 16 0 26 30 0
Zaal 1B 78 2,18 m         0 55 24 0 28 35 0
Zaal 2A 68 2,18 m         0 45 16 0 26 30 0
Zaal 2B 40 2,18 m         0 20 12 0 16 20 0
Zaal 3 24 2,18 m         0 0 0 0 10 0 0
Zaal 1A + 1B 146 2,18 m         0 100 40 0 54 65 0
Zaal 2A + 2B 108 2,18 m         0 65 28 0 42 50 0

Request quotation

Or call: +31 (0)74 851 68 00

▲ Back to top

A great time in the heart of Twente

Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo is easy to reach by car and train. Ideal for a weekend away in the heart of Twente. Certainly if you really fancy a shop till you drop. In Hengelo itself there are surprisingly attractive and original shops, which are included in the special shopping walk route (highly recommended!). But there’s also perfect shopping in various cities just over the German border.

You can cycle to your heart’s content in the Twente countryside. Pump up the tyres to cycle over undulating roads, through ancient forests, along meadows, fens and streams. There are all kinds of great cycle routes in the area surrounding Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo, and many great places to walk, too, including Twickel castle with its 4,000-hectare estate, past historic gardens and various museums. And after a long day outdoors you will certainly have earned a delicious glass of wine or beer at the bar of Star Café Diner.

Along paths and lanes!

The hotel is in a perfect location: in the heart of Hengelo, next to the theatre and close to the station. Hengelo is also the destination for a weekend of cycling and walking in the Twente countryside. Immediately outside the city you’ll find expansive forests, beautiful nature areas and pretty villages. So set off along paths and lanes!

The Klompenmuseum ’t Skopke in Enter is totally “Twents” with its hundreds of different clogs. More interested in technology? The Twents Techniekmuseum HEIM shows the history and the future of (Twentse) industry. The Historisch Museum is fascinating. It’s situated in an aristocrat’s home that’s over a hundred years old.

The Rabotheater has extremely diverse performances on its programme, both from local amateurs and from national companies. It’s also ideal for a great film evening.

What’s going to happen on the stage at Metropool is always a surprise. It’s the place to discover rising talent and local music heroes.

Shopping lovers are well-served in the centre of Hengelo. With the special shopping walk route you’ll miss nothing.

There’s nostalgia in the forest between Hengelo and Enschede, where the family amusement park De Waarbeek is situated. You’ll find many rides from the past here that are still fascinating. Nothing is nicer for the children than playing endlessly in two large monkey cages. Set those monkeys free in the Bengeltjes Speeldorp.

Cycling and walking
Smart cyclists will take in a few castles along their route; Twickel castle on Landgoed Twickel for instance, most of which is open to the public. Tuindorp ’t Lansink, an idyllic residential area from the 1920s, is also nice.

▲ Back to top


▲ Back to top

Enjoyable and informal

Star Café Diner
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo has its own bar and restaurant: Star Café Diner. Get to know the “Twentse” hospitality in this enjoyable, informal restaurant. A lavish breakfast buffet awaits hotel guests every morning. You can also enjoy brunch or dinner here, or simply a cup of coffee or a drink at the bar. 

Our restaurant can be found on the ground floor of our hotel. You can dine here from 5:00 p.m. until 9:30 p.m., Monday to Thursday. The restaurant is closed from Friday to Sunday and public holidays. On closing days we offer you a small menu with for example a soup, a sandwich and some snacks.

View the menu here
Enjoyable and informal

▲ Back to top


82% of the travellers recommend this hotel. Based on 299 reviews
  • Excellent
  • Very good
  • Average
  • Poor
  • Terrible
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Certificate of Excellence
4 of 5 stars
“Decent Business Hotel”

The hotel is located only 2 minutes' walk from the town's railway station that has a frequent service from Amsterdam & Schiphol airport. The staff were friendly, the rooms of a generous size and the bed comfy. The on site bar & restaurant is adequate.
Read more reviews
Ottawa, Canada
 of 5 stars
“Great hotel. ”

Good business hotel. Great breakfast. Right downtown near the train station. Fee wifi which is slow. You have to keep logging in all the time. The carpet in the stairway needs to be replaced. Rooms are big and well lit. Lots of work space.
Ryomgaard, Denmark
 of 5 stars
“Another wonderful stay in Hengelo”

The hotel is wonderfully placed almost in the centre of Hengelo, and the Market is very near by (only Wednesdays and Saturdays) but really worth a vist. The rooms are large and well furnished, and the beds are really good! The breakfast facilities are very good, and the WiFi is fast and reliable.
 of 5 stars
“Avondje Metropool”

Nice, clean hotel, good service with nice people. Hengelo is a nice place with a lot of pubs and stores. The hotel is in the centre and parking is at the other side of the street (about 10euro a day). Breakfast is good. The metropool is a concert hall were all kind of bands and musicians play.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, nice to read you had a good stay in Hengelo and at "Poppodium De Metropool". We look forward to welcoming you again sometimes soon! With kind regards, Marieke Dooren
Helmond, The Netherlands
 of 5 stars
“Superior room by far not superior”

Stayed one night in this hotel, which is situated very near to the Rabotheater (just around the corner) and has a parking garage across the street for €10 a day. Reception was very kind, but the overall feeling you'd expect concerning the rather high room rate wasn't that great at all. This is why: It's interieur looks and feels out dated, the room was far from Superior to me. Yes there is a Nespresso machine, a small fault, robe and slippers (I wondered why) but it just doesn't add up to the damp, dusty room without airconditioning to make the room feel fresh again. Opening the windows helped a bit but then the noise of the street is audible, but something I took for granted in return for some freshness. The tv channel reception was poor, giving another thumb down. Then the small refrigerator made a lot of noise, I just had to turn it off. And it is not to press the finger on anything I can come up with, it is far from that, but when you pay this room rate and booking a Superior Room, you would expect it to be at least better than an average Standard room. There are some positive things to mention though: the beds are nice, bathroom is okay and breakfast gets a thumbs up, although those (paper) place-mats just ads up the overall feeling I get from this hotel.
Owner Response of Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
Dear guest, I apologize you had u such a disappointing stay at our hotel and we did not meet your expectations. We do our utmost best to keep our hotel up to date, but we just can not do all at once, because we have 100 hotel rooms. We just replaced all carpets in the hotel rooms and hallways. We hope we can update the tv's next year. But besides this, room should have been nice and clean and fresh, without dust, I will talk to housekeeping about this. Again I'm sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. With kind regards Marieke Dooren